Monday Vinyl (Part 1)

There was talk of doing stuff today seeing as how it’s a Civic holiday but nothing has really been planned or acted on.

Shit, I even went back to bed for another hour and a half at 7:30am.

There was a brief mention of going out for breakfast, but nobody got off their ass (myself included) and I feel like that’s no gonna happen now and now I’m stuck with an empty stomach.  We were also thinking of doing something with HRH but, honestly, she’s not likely going to rise until at least noon and even then, she won’t be functionable for another few hours after that.

We also need groceries but, really, “Yay groceries!” says nobody ever.

shaking_head_breaking_bad

So until we sort out all this uncertainty for the day (not least of all, what I’m going to currently do about not my passing out from hunger) we’re going to not only continue with today’s lazy mood, but actually encourage it with this ‘Passage  album by William Ackerman.

61hkbeq3bul._sx355_

The second to last of the four New Age-y Windham Hill albums I picked up from the Burlington, Ontario Goodwill shop a little over a month or so ago.

As it was with Lyle Mays, I have no fucking idea who William Ackerman is but I sure as shit know who Darol Anger is and, yeah, for a buck this record was absolutely coming home with me.

(even though it’s taken some time to actually listen to it)

As it turns out, Ackerman is actually the dude who founded Windham Hill Records.

Oops, my bad!

giphy

Perhaps that just means then that Ackerman had the pick of who’s who to play on this particular 1981 “Contemporary Folk meets American Primitivism” (whatever the fuck that is) record so that definitely bodes well with this listen.

It’s “mellow as fuck guitar music”.

Does that sum it up easily enough for ya?

And, really, it’s some damn fine mellow as fuck guitar music too and not the kind you’d see, say, played on some strange hollowed out gourd in order to attract fairies by the light of a full moon or some other hocus-pocus bullshit, but real honest to goodness, simple, pretty mellow as fuck guitar music.

Maybe I’m getting old, who knows … but I’m kinda digging me this New Age-y stuff.

Lord knows what we’ll be doing in another hour, but whatever we put on the turntable next will inevitably have to be a little more, shall we say — lively? — otherwise, the chances are very good that none of us will be getting up anytime soon from our current lazy roosts.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment