Vinyl Sunday

Another decent weekend with two bike rides spanning 125k in the past 48 hours and, yeah, other shit too.  Finally, I’m relaxing for the rest of the day having prepared everything for tomorrow’s work day and while the BBQ heats up we’re furthering the “unwind” with this self-titled album by Lyle Mays.

lyle_mays_-_lyle_mays_28198629

This was another of the Windham Hill records that I went back to the Burlington, Ontario Goodwill a month or so ago so grab after realizing that my wife lives this New Age-y hocus-pocus stuff.

I know …

Husband.  Of.  The.  Year.

giphy-3

Anyway, as it turns out I’m awfully glad I did.

You see, upon first scan of the records after the SunRype Tri-Kids when I was hot, stinky mess and likely suffering from both a little mild dehydration and malnutrition, I failed to notice that Bill Frisell plays on this album so, yeah …

giphy

But that begs the question then: who the fuck is Lyle Mays?

Well as it turns out, ‘ol Lyle was also the keyboardist for the Pat Metheny Group.

So, again …

This 1986 album then is his first solo debut recorded at The Power Station in New York City featuring not only Frisell, but Alejandro N. Acuña  (drums), Marc Johnson (bass), Billy Drewes (saxes), and Nana Vasconcelos (percussion).

Okay, so none of those other names mean anything to me but regardless, if they’re also playing with Bill-fucking-Frisell then I’m curious to know who these particular motherfuckers are, knowwhatimsayin?

And together they’re …

tenor-1

I mean, it’s all smooth earthy jazz and shit and, of course, I’m feeling instantly more mellow but, even still … it’s just okay.

Having said that, it does have Bill-fucking-Frisell playing on it so I can definitely use this record as a cool conversation piece with, say, the only other person on the planet that might appreciate that informational tidbit.

They’re out there, I’m sure.

giphy-1

And even if they’re not … that just makes me smarter than everyone else and for a dollar, that’s fucking priceless!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment