Flight DL3963 from San Antonio to Detroit (Part 2)

One of the Trump morons has now decided to break out an entire bucket of KFC to chow down on.  Excellent!  Because sitting beside two loud, obese Trump zombies isn’t bad enough but now I have to bare witness to them polishing off a bucket of greasy fast food chicken.

God help me.

Time for more audio stimulus to keep me distracted and, hopefully, keep them alive.  I’m going with the ‘Light Is Faster Than Sound‘  album by Big Brother and the Holding Company (featuring Janis Joplin).

joplinlightisfasterthansound

Yes, again, I recognize that one likely wouldn’t think of a 60’s era “flower power” hippie band from San Francisco as “Texas-inspired”.  My justification is that front person Janis Joplin originally hails from Port Arthur, Texas, the daughter of a registrar at a business college and an engineer at Texaco.  Sure, it’s a stretch…but I’m rolling with it.

Often with this album, Janis may get the sole billing here while Big Brother and the Holding Company are relegated to sidemen status, however, given that this February ’66 concert was recorded right when Janis had joined the group nothing could be further from the truth – it’s 100% a team effort.  If anything, at this point in the game Janis was more or less a member on equal footing with the other Brothers who were still heavily into their avant-rock and not exactly catering to Janis’s caterwauling tendencies. The quality’s rather good considering the now-stone aged technology of the times.

While the who performance is memorable including ‘Ball and Chain‘ and ‘Call On Me‘, there are two incredible highlights:  the amazing ‘All Is Loneliness‘ and the catchy title track ‘Light Is Faster Than Sound‘.  Total ‘Like WOW, man!‘.

The real success is now that we’ve landing, the two Trump morons are still alive (the bucket of chicken not so much) and I didn’t go all Jeffrey Dahmer mid-flight.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment