Weights

Truth:  I slept in this morning.

giphy

However, I did manage to make a a stop at the gym after work for a quick and dirty 45 minute session with the weights and this ‘Goodbye and Hello‘ album by Tim Buckley.

61hza2lrp3l._sy355_

While this might appear to be a  initially rather odd choice for a muscly He-man weights workout, there is a bit of a story to this particular album.

Somewhere down the line I used to own this record.  I didn’t have a reliable record player at the time so I more or less looked at it at a lot and when I did look at it, I don’t think I thought very much about it all.

Anyway, somewhere in the back of lizard brain I had decided that some hippie looking dude against a bright yellow backdrop with what I thought was a flower in right eye (took you I didn’t look at it very much) didn’t interest me and at some point I let it pass from my collection.  Whether I left it behind somewhere, or discarded it altogether I do not remember but I remember remember not giving two fig newtons about the fact that it was there.

Fast forward another 15 years or so and I’m reading Patti Smith’s ‘Just Kids‘ and low and behold, but who should be mentioned as one of her early influences?

Tim fucking Buckley …

… and it’s an album from 1967 no less.

giphy

Shit.

Welp, that one sure slipped under my radar.

source

So I’m righting that grievous error this afternoon with the heavy iron and, well … that’s my story I guess.

As it turns out, this record is often cited as the ultimate Tim Buckley statement, and is indeed a fabulous album.

Recorded in the middle of the infamous “Summer of Love” (in the afterglow of ‘Sgt. Pepper‘), this album is clearly inspired by ‘Pepper‘s exploratory spirit. More often than not, this helps to bring Buckley’s awesome musical vision home.

The finest songs on the album were written by him alone, particularly ‘Once I Was‘ and ‘Pleasant Street’. Buoyed by Jerry Yester’s excellent production, these tracks are easily among the finest example of Buckley’s psychedelic/folk vision.  A few tracks, namely the title cut and ‘No Man Can Find the War‘, were co-written by poet Larry Beckett.

Showcasing his stunning vocal range, thoughtful lyrics and a penchant for imbuing songs with surprisingly soulful, these were intended as serious non-blue-eyed grooves and infectious jangle-pop melodies. This, his second album (recorded when he was only 20), runs the gamut and absolutely leaves the door was wide opened for a stunning, if tragically too soon cut short, incomparable career.

Thing is though, besides being from the best year in music, like, ever … the rest of it is kinda shitty.

I mean, not completely Shit List crappy, but still … for a 1967 record, it is pretty lame and my collection is certainly no worse off for me no longer having it anymore.  In hindsight, maybe my self-consciousness knew something when it decided to let it go.

(Sorry, Patti)

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment