Core

No work today and I couldn’t be bothered to get out of bed to attend the 6:00am “Booty Camp” this  morning.  I mean, I would and could go, but with the gas prices being the way they are lately, the closer I can stay to home the better; not that I am opposed to funding rich Saudi princes vacation getaways to Aspen, Colorado because, surely, they also need a little “downtime” from their already extravagant lifestyle of wanting for nothing too, right?

Anyway, what this all really means for me then is that I’m home again this Friday in my basement, have stripped down to my underpants and am completing a leisurely Day 86 of the “Core Project” (actually more of a “functional strength” workout) and this ‘Black and Tan Fantasysoundtrack by Duke Ellington.

118462730

“Black and Tan Fantasy” is a 1927 jazz composition by both Ellington and Bubber Miley, for the 1929 movie “Black and Tan”, a musical short film written and directed by Dudley Murphy about a couple in the performing arts; it is set during the contemporary Harlem Renaissance in New York City. It is the first film to feature Duke Ellington and His Orchestra performing as a jazz band, and was also the film debut of actress Fredi Washington. The film is thought to express the emergence of African-American artists in New York City during the Harlem Renaissance*.

Sounds all very hip and chill, dig?

(Never mind them sullen bitches on the front cover)

Then in 2015, the United States Library of Congress selected the film for preservation in the National Film Registry, finding it “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant”.

Soooooo…yeah, definitely hip and chill.

I don’t remember where I found this album, it’s just been one that I have unconsciously biding my time with for whatever reason waiting for the right moment, and I guess that moment is now.

What is curious about the album is that this is an Italy pressing of the record on the “Maestri del Jazz” label.

Huh.

Neat.

I guess that kind of makes sense as the wops sure know their way around a “hip and chill” vibe, amiright?

tenor

Now what they know about the plotline abouot a “down and out” African-American jazz musician, God only knows, but if this is the final result then God bless them anyway.

But the title track is not the only cool thing on the record.  In fact, it’s actually a second thought that takes up Side Two of the album.  Side One, however, is a “plus other sides from the same period” and believe me when I tell you, these are true gems.  Ellington’s  and ‘Chicago Stomp Down‘ is excellent, as is ‘Jungle Jamboree‘ and ‘Snake Hip Dance‘ by The Harlem Footwarmers.

This is seriously some good shit to fuel this morning’s on the mat routine with Toby the “Morning Crack Cat”.

Okay, so now about the rest of the day, err, scratch that…

…about the EZ-Boy for another hour with a third and very necessary coffee while I think about what it is I genuinely want to accomplish today.

*The film begins with a scene showing Ellington struggling to get bookings for his band. His finances are so tight that he can’t make payments on his piano and apartment. Two men arrive to take possession of Duke’s piano; swinging chaos ensues…

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment