Choppin’ n’ a-Dicin’

I enjoyed a beautiful 30k bike ride today on my dad’s bike (click HERE) after my physio and tonight, Kelly and I are enjoying our first childless evening in, well, forever, by feasting over a plate of nachos and pints of Redline BrewingOh, Sorry’ and watching Big Brother.  So at the moment, I’m chopping up all the tomatoes, onions, lettuce and peppers and listening to the ‘Sound of the Sitar‘  album by Ravi Shankar and Alla Rakha.

791680812_3e9e406509_b

Because when you chop veggies, you may as well listen to Hindi sitar music, right?

By far the most famous of all sitar players, Ravi Shankar has long been a beacon of light for Indian music worldwide.  This 1965 release is most noted for having been George Harrison‘s introduction to Indian music.  So, if you want to honor ‘ol George or get your “Harrison-Shankar” on…this is your album.

Of course, this makes it then one great World addition to the ‘ol collection.

Essentially, ‘Sound of the Sitar‘ is made up of four compositions. The first, ‘Raga Malkauns: Alap‘  is a slow, reflective piece that I will likely use again in future home yoga sessions.  According to Shankar, the section of a raga known as the “Alap”  is difficult to play because it is an invocation, a prayer meant to be performed with great humility. The second piece is, ‘Raga Malkauns: Jor‘.  The “Jor” section of a raga is based on a rhythmic pulse and does not a have a strict rhythmic time cycle like the Alap.  As this piece develops, much like Western music, it becomes more dense and climactic. The third piece, ‘Tala Sawari‘  includes a wonderful tabla solo by Alla Rakha and uses boles, vocal mnemonics that imitate the various tones produced on the drums. The final selection, ‘Pahar Dhun‘  is a cheerful improvisation based on the folk melodies of India.

While I admit that I don’t necessarily listen to World or sitar music very often, I felt that in order to consider myself as a well rounded (musically, not physically) music aficionado that it would be wise to have at least one go-to album in my collection that I a) reflects that, and b) I actually enjoy and will play again.

This album accomplishes both.

I have to say, there is something strangely therapeutic about chopping veg and listening to sitar music.  Oscar the Cat, however, would disagree wholeheartedly.  Myself?  I find it extremely relaxing; almost meditative in nature.  Never mind “Yoga with Goats” or “Dancing with Llamas”, this is the next best thing in hipster entrepreneurial endeavors: “Chopping Vegetables with Sitars”.

Coming to a studio near you!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other, Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

