Hump Day Vinyl

It’s been a fairly productive day with my first attempt back in the pool (1600m) and 10 minutes of pool running.  I’m also going to attempt a nice and easy 26.5k bike ride with HRH  this evening to boot (my first since the accident – click HERE).  So I’m relaxing now with some burgers, a pint of Brimstone Brewing Co.‘s Sinister Minister, and this ‘Lure of the Tropics‘  album by Andre Kostelanetz.

r-1643977-1471305631-4613-jpeg

It’s a pretty fitting soundtrack actually, seeing as how I’ve been on this South Pacific island kick with my book choices lately (currently: ‘Headhunters On My Doorstep: A True Treasure Island Ghost Story‘  by Maarten J. Troost).

Kelly calls it “Disney-bird” music.

She’s not wrong.

I found it for a whopping ¢10 while Goodwill Hunting at the Niagara Falls Goodwill shop a few weeks ago.

Who could resist?

Lure Of The Tropics’  was already released in 1954 and is – in my humblest opinion – one of the very best pre-Exotica releases you can possibly come up with.  The majority of its nine tracks is surprisingly long in regard to the typical Exotica-related track length ratio where most songs don’t even exceed the three-minute mark. However, it offers several three to four minute long songs, the only exception being ‘Jamaican Rhumba’  with only 1 minute and 42 seconds.  While all of these tracks are interpretations of well-known or soon-to-be classics, the selection, arrangement and sound quality are top notch, enormously vivid and tremendously soothing and catchy. This is Easy Listening music that no one should be ashamed of liking.

“Disney-bird” music – my ass.

It’s a fantastic album that delivers a wise choice of classics that were picked time and time again by various Jazz ensembles and Exotica quartets later on.

Coincidentally, Kostelanetz built upon the success of this album by delivering the follow-up Lure Of Paradise‘  (That’s right.  I own that one too, bitches) in 1959 , supposedly due to the Exotica movement being on its peak then.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

