Holiday Monday Vinyl (Part 3)

Kelly has gone to work and HRH  is curled up in my bed with Tina the Cat working her way through whatever season of Grey’s Anatomy  she happens to be on now, which leaves me then with my book ( ‘Headhunters On My Doorstep: A True Treasure Island Ghost Story‘  by Maarten J. Troost), a pint of Brimstone Brewing Co.‘s Indoor BBQ Table Beer  and the last of my Legends purchases from this past weekend, Duke Ellington‘s ‘The Latin-American Suite‘.

r-3114219-1316439575-jpeg

Ellington and his band of musicians departed New York City for Rio de Janeiro on September 1st, 1968 where they were set to play in Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Chile and Mexico, always to packed houses and great enthusiasm.  This is the resulting dedication album released after that tour in 1972.

Personally, I think the album is stunning.

Like, a totally WOW! album from my Ellington catalog of albums which is getting pretty extensive now.

Oclupaca‘, ‘Chico Cuadradino‘, ‘Tina‘, ‘Brasilliance‘, and ‘The Sleeping Lady and the Giant Who Watches Over Here‘  are all equally amazing.  The liner notes on the back of the album cover give a song-by-song account of how the songs came to be, as well as their significance to the Ellington song-writing, recording style but, seriously, it just doesn’t do the actual songs any real justice.  This is something you need to actually hear and, therefore, experience.

This is an album that will be on the ‘ol turntable a few more time in the coming weeks for sure.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

