Holiday Monday Vinyl (Part 1)

It has been another long weekend traveling to/from and working to help run the SunRype Tri-Kids race at the Richcraft Recreation Complex in Kanata (Ottawa), Ontario.  Needless to say that I have zero inclination to do anything today that requires me to, say, stand or do anything else that might also require me to get up off my ass from my EZ-Boy recliner and, believe me, if there was a way I could flip or change the records without standing I would most certainly be doing that too.  Anyway, seeing as how it’s a relaxing “recovery day”, I’m breaking out some new vinyl beginning with the ‘Asphalt Canyon Suite‘  by Kenny Burrell.

asphalt_canyon_suite

As per custom, when I travel I enjoy seeking out local record shops for browsing and see what dusty treasures I can unearth.  Last year, I discovered the Vinyl Destination store in Merrickville, Ontario and this year it was Legends located right in Ottawa at the Hazeldean Mall.

I was originally a bit skeptical about visiting a record shop located in a shopping mall but I was pleasantly surprised.  The shop had a huge variety of both new and used albums and the selection was phenomenal and diverse.

It certainly didn’t hurt that they had a “But 3, Get 1 Free” event going on either.

Asphalt Canyon Suite‘ is a studio album by the legendary jazz guitarist, recorded in 1968 and 1969 and released on the Verve label in 1970, and represents the absolutely gold standard for Burrell, especially the first five tunes (or the entire first side of the album).  This is an album that stretches and smokes and suspends time.

The album really plays like two sections. The first half, I would describe as like taking a solitary nighttime walk down a busy city street especially the tune ‘Alone In The City‘. ‘Think About It‘  has a long piano solo introduction that segues perfectly into ‘Get Your Thing Together‘, a smoldering jazz blues tune.  The last five tunes on the album (side two) are also very good, consisting of standards and a cover of Dusty Springfield‘s 1960’s hit, ‘Put A Little Love In Your Heart‘.  My favorite from these last five tracks is ‘Sugar Hill‘, just a smoking slow shuffle.

A great Jazz Boner beginning to a relaxing Monday afternoon of doing completely buckus.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

