Easy Run (5.25k)

A little over four weeks ago I was in my peak fitness seven days out from accomplishing something epic.  Now, I have seven pins in my hand, I’m beginning to sport man boobs and I have little to no energy or ambition to even get myself up off the couch.  Funny how life can change so quickly.  I’m determined though to not allow myself to go down the rabbit hole too deep into “Ironfunk“, so I’m forcing myself outside today for this little walk and, hopefully, a few brief “jogs” to start to get myself back on track – baby steps as they may be – towards a healthy and active lifestyle.  My listening pleasure for 40 minutes or so of easy-does-it ambling around the neighborhood is the ‘Anodyne‘  album by Uncle Tupelo.

anodyne_28album_cover29

An “Anodyne” is actually a painkilling drug or medicine, of which, I’ve had a lot of on the past few weeks.  Funny then that this is what I’m now listening to now that I’m finally pain free, or that I’ve chosen a time to do this workout when it’s currently 34° outside.

Either way, the album title is appropriate.

‘Anodyne‘ also represents Uncle Tupelo’s major-label debut and parting shot on Sire Records (1993).  For all of the ill will undoubtedly simmering throughout these sessions, Jay Farrar and Jeff Tweedy have never before been more attuned to each other musically; where earlier records often found the band’s twin forces moving in opposing directions, Anodyne bears the full fruits of their shared vision.

Recorded live in the studio, the album encompasses and reinterprets not only country-rock (evidenced by the group’s pairing with Doug Sahm on his ‘Give Back the Key to My Heart‘) but also traditional country (the tribute to the songwriting legacy of ‘Acuff-Rose‘), rock (the churning ‘The Long Cut‘, ‘Chickamauga‘), and folk (‘New Madrid‘, ‘Steal the Crumbs‘), the band’s reach never once exceeding its grasp.

The album was well received by critics domestically and internationally, compared even to debut albums by both Neil Young and Little Feat.  It has even been listed in 2008, on Rolling Stone  magazine’s ‘1,000 Recordings to Hear Before You Die’.

As for my workout, I am counting on these first few tentative steps (5.25k worth) this afternoon to be the first of my eventual comeback in 2018 and, hopefully, much better things to come.  And, truth be told, I felt pretty good and was able to do more running than walking which was certainly not the original plan.  I was able to complete 4 x (250m walking, 1k easy run) relatively easy without much complaining from ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning.

And learning from my recent revelations (click HERE), I’m choosing to take this as a good sign…a very good sign.  And now I am going to celebrate this small victory with a cool shower and a pint of Brimstone Brewing Co.‘s Indoor BBQ Table Beer.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

