Friday Afternoon Vinyl (Part 3)

Kidzilla is back from camp and the pulled pork is still in the crock pot.  I made some good progress on the book project earlier and I just getting around to that pint of Brimstone Brewing Co.‘s ‘Indoor BBQ Table Beer‘  that I mentioned earlier as well so I may as well throw another record on the turntable then, ‘Pure Cotton‘  by the James Cotton Band.

pure-cotton

This is another of the first albums that inhabited my collection in the early days.

Mr. Cotton is a reknowned Chicago blues harmonica player, singer and composer who has recorded with many blues artists, such as Sonny Boy Williamson and Howlin’ Wolf.   His career began in Memphis where he recorded a few singles for Sam Phillips in the early 1950’s and with Muddy Waters when his band came to town (Cotton ended up replacing of Little Walter). Cotton began recording his own records in the late 1960’s.

The other band members hereon this album include Luther Tucker (guitars), Alberto Gianquinto (keyboards), Robert Anderson (bass), Francis Clay (drums), John Court (tamborine) and Michael Bloomfield (advise and enthusiasm).

Released in 1968 on the Verve Forecast label, this scorcher of an album includes key Cotton standards such as ‘Soul Survivor‘, ‘Who’s Afraid Of Little Red Riding Hood?‘, ‘Heart Attack‘ and my favorite, the haunting ‘The Creeper‘ (the song, not the burp).

It’s been a while since I’ve spun this record and it was thoroughly enjoyed as a bonus trip down memory lane this afternoon while enjoying my beer and a few pages of my book (‘Headhunters On My Doorstep: A True Treasure Island Ghost Story‘  by Maarten J. Troost) and waiting for Kelly to get home for some sort of “Secret Date Night”.

Ohboyohboyohboyohboyohboy…

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

