Recovery Vinyl

After a relaxing morning spent in front of the boob tube watching Maciej Bodnar attempt to defy the odds against a stacked Peloton, it’s time to do another round of my “Dis Widdle Piggie” rehab exercises with my injured left hand and this afternoon (as well as for the rest of the day because, well, let’s just say that I’m playing “Dis Widdle Piggie” a lot these days), that’s all being done to the ‘Drummin’ Man‘  album by Gene Krupa.

gene_krupa_drummin2bman-443266

This was a cast off from Uncle Lance’s collection unto my own.

Score!

Sorry, Uncle Lance.

Released in 1963’s, is more or less a two-LP “Greatest Hits” box set featuring 32 of the best recordings by Krupa’s own big band. All of the drummer’s hits are here including ‘Drummin’ Man‘, ‘Drum Boogie‘, ‘Bolero at the Savoy‘, ‘Let Me Off Uptown‘, ‘Rockin’ Chair‘, ‘After You’ve Gone‘, ‘Leave Us Leap‘, ‘Body and Soul‘, ‘Opus #1‘ and ‘Disc Jockey Jump‘,

In addition to Krupa, the stars on these often-classic swing sides include trumpeter Roy Eldridge, singer Anita O’Day, altoist Charlie Kennedy, and tenorman Charlie Ventura among others.

And while it’ll be at least six weeks before I can even think about playing the drums (yeah, right!), it’s a good listen on this otherwise overcast rainy hump day through my exercises, as it is an awesome addition to my growing Jazz Boner collection.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other, Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

