Core

There’s just 5 more days left of “Iron Build”…and counting (click HERE).

(I have no idea why I posted that video.  That’s just what came to mind when I originally typed that opening line.  Just roll with it.)

Anyway, this morning then constitutes itself of an 80k time trial down the Niagara Parkway early this morning and this evenings the plan is to take my first open water dip at the Welland International Flatwater Center with HRH.  So that leaves this lunchtime wide open for a quick core workout (Day 117) with this ‘Cyclone‘  album by Tangerine Dream.

tangerine_dream_-_cyclone

Like them or not, any self-respecting music aficionado should have at least one Tangerine Dream record in their collection and there really is no excuse to not seeing as how the band has released, literally, about a billion albums.

Okay, I exaggerate…but barely.

The band has easily released over a hundred albums and another 60+ movie soundtracks over the span of 48 years, making them one of the most prolific bands, only, ever.  This just happens to be the token Tangerine Dream album in my collection that I picked up somewhere along the line for about a buck.

The band was originally formed in 1969 by Edgar Froese and has seen many personnel changes over the years, with Froese being the only continuous member until his death in January of 2015.  Noted electronic music artist, drummer, and composer Klaus Schulze was briefly a member in an early lineup. The best known and most constant line-up of the group, which worked during their most influential mid-1970s period, was a trio with Froese, Christopher Franke, and Peter Baumann.

This album was released just after this period in 1978, and sees the inclusion of Steve Jolliffe, who added that extra Yes-like progressive rock influence with wind instruments and keyboards.  This was also the first TD album to incorporate lyrics and vocals (also from Steve Jolliffe).  By this point, the sound more centered on shifting arpeggiation over percussive rhythm structures, with ‘Madrigal Meridian‘  being an impressive example of this.  Jolliffe’s vocal contributions on ‘Bent Cold Sidewalk‘  and ‘Rising Runner Missed by Endless Sender‘  provide an aggressive edge that effectively catapults the listener from the hypnotic pulse that Tangerine Dream are best known for.

I’m not sure how I settled on listening to this album this afternoon as I really haven’t even so much as glanced at it in over a decade.  I can honestly say that I was never the hugest Tangerine Dream fan but I do believe in strictly adhering to the “Collector’s Code” and did my due diligence to own at least one TD album in order to maintain my official music aficionado status.

Thing is, listening to it with fresh ears this afternoon – I really enjoyed it.  Hell, I might even have to pick up a few others which should be simple seeing as how every used record shop, online vendor and flea market booth operator should easily have about a three dozen TD records that they will be literally begging people – anyone – to take them off their hands.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

