Speed Run (9.47k)

It’s my last week of “Iron Build” before I begin my all-haloed taper, and the whole shebang begins with  running another 9.47k worth of 300m (10x) intervals.  Well, okay, I did swim 3600m this morning, but this is the workout that I dread the most.

God help me.

This afternoon’s soundtrack speedy anthem is the ‘I See Good Spirits & I See Bad Spirits‘ by My Life With the Thrill Kill Kult.

isgs-cover

The first full-length album from the Groovie Mann and Buzz McCoy-led performance art/film/music collective, ‘I See Good Spirits & I See Bad Spirits‘  came out just after the group’s self-titled EP in December of 1988.

A somewhat mixed affair, this Wax Trax! offering still had an impact on house dancefloors and college radio play lists with its pulsing beats and nihilistic messages of religious and cultural waste and universal darkness.  Because, hey, who doesn’t love dancing to an amalgam of heavy dance rhythms, horror film sampling, and quasi-Satanic imagery?

Or running for that matter?

On tracks like ‘Gateway to Hell‘  and ‘…And Is What the Devil Does‘, TKK trademark ornaments like obscure film samples and sneering vocals establish what would become the bands sonic calling card.

While not quite as bold or successful as groundbreaking releases like ‘Sexplosion!‘  or ‘Kooler Than Jesus‘ (report inevitably coming soon to a blog near you), this album is nonetheless an important early release from one of the most respected and artistic quasi-industrial outfits of the ’80s and ’90s.

Today’s run went rather well.  Well in the fact that it’s wasn’t stupid hot and humid out, although the westerly wind made the last few intervals suck more than they needed to.  ‘Ol Thunder n’ Lightning feel pretty good and I could console myself when they didn’t by rationalizing to myself that this was my last speed workout.

That’s right bitches, no more stupid intervals or 30 second sprints or whatever.  Unless it’s for the bar at last call or, maybe to the bathroom after one too many morning coffee and eggs.

How’s that for “seeing good spirits”?

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Speed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

