Yoga

With the Part 1 of today’s challenge complete (click HERE), I’m taking some downtime on my yoga mat this afternoon on my lunch to work out the lingering kinks and whatnot in anticipation of Part 2 later on:  The Double Run.

God help me.

Anyway, today’s yoga stretch is set to the mellow self-titled album featuring Duke Ellington and John Coltrane.

31dqhhx9xhl

Perhaps looking to renew his inspiration or maybe simply wanting to broaden his horizons, Ellington began a string of collaborations in the second half of his career – whereas before that, his own band was stimulus enough.

Whatever the reason, almost all of his collaborations succeeded at high levels, although none of his shared sessions are more intriguing on the surface than this 1962 date with the preeminent sax star of the day.

In reality, the record amounts to ‘Coltrane Plays Ellington‘  (plus one Coltrane original) because the tenor man is the whole show – and what a show it is.  Only Coltrane could be as “fiercely tender,” and there’s no better forum for his sensitive side than the music of Ellington and Billy Strayhorn, who contributes the album’s true vertex, ‘My Little Brown Book‘.  The rhythm section alternates between Duke’s and Trane’s, each adding a different texture to the proceedings.  Ellington is wise enough to appreciate the nature of the session, and he is quite content to feed chords in service of the young master – proving the old master’s open mind and good taste.  Hearing Coltrane seize ‘In a Sentimental Mood‘  is thanks enough.

It was an enjoyable stretch this afternoon and hey, maybe Part 2 of Kenya Day later on isn’t going to be as painful as I currently have it made out to be in my mind.

Only time will tell I suppose.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl, Yoga and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

