Long Run (25.31k)

Today is supposed to be “Redemption Day”; redemption out on the road for last weekends failed attempt at running long (click HERE).  I need this to happen.  I need it to go well.  So I was up early, fed, hydrated and out on the road for 6:00am sharp.

Here goes nothing.

My soundtrack over this long 2 hours and 30 minutes (25.31k)worth of continuous hard earned pavement in a live performance by Medeski, Martin and Wood at the Metropolis for the Montreal Jazz Festival on July 4th, 2002.

clevelandheader

I figured seeing as how today was intended to be a long haul, it may as well be an enjoyable listen and this is definitely one of my favorites from my extensive collection of MMW bootlegs…maybe of all my bootlegs, period.

And it stands to reason too because there’s lots of cool stuff happening in this show with special guests like Rahim playing a oud, Trilock Gurtu (an Indian percussionist and composer) and the entire second set features Charlie Hunter on and eight-string guitar which he simultaneously plays basslines, rhythm guitar, and solos.

Yeah.

Cool shit.

It’s a little bit jazzy, a little bit funky and whole lotta awesome for keeping a steady pace, munching gummy frogs and otherwise kicking ass and taking names.  I will admit there was a small tear shed for the sole gummy frog that met his ultimate demise after being accidentally dropped to the ground and stomped on along Thunder Bay Rd.

R.I.P. little gummy frog.

Your precious calories will be “sorely” missed.

(no pun intended)

The only truly sucky part from this mornings run, aside from the rising heat and humidity of the early morning that is, was the unexpected and vicious attack by horseflies along Nigh Rd.; no doubt attracted by the sweet scent of awesomeness emanating from my pores. Seriously, by time I finished I was 100% drenched from head to foot and carting around about another 3lbs. of moisture in my “dry-wicking” fabric short and shorts.

Dry-wicking my ass.

Oh, and there may have been a little unpleasant chafing going on in sensitive areas as well and, yup, maybe even a little bleeding in unmentionable areas but, but surely you don’t want to hear about that.

Let’s just say there was plenty of screaming in the shower afterwards.

Anyway…

REDEMPTION ACHIEVED!

Now here’s hoping this evening’s double goes just as well.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

