Hump Day Vinyl

As I mentioned in my earlier post this afternoon, it’s been a long two days.  So now that this evenings 3000m strength swim is over I’m relaxing for a brief spell to chill out with my book (‘The Sex Lives of Cannibals: Adrift in Equatorial Pacific‘ by Maarten Troost), a pint of Brimstone Brewing ‘Sinister Minister‘ and this ‘In a Priest Driven Ambulance‘ album by The Flaming Lips.

inapriestdrivenambulance

Interesting story regarding this album:  I traded for it a growler of beer.

Truth.

Best deal ever, especially given it’s also on a limited edition red (well, more of a bubble gum pink if you ask me) vinyl to boot.

Thanks Sharyn!

In a Priest Driven Ambulance‘  ranks as the first truly brilliant Flaming Lips album; the first effort to feature guitarist Jonathan “Dingus” Donahue, it’s a loose concept record that brings Wayne Coyne’s long-standing obsessions with religion bubbling to the surface.

Interestingly, the album is not divided into Side One and Side Two, but “Smile Side” and “Brain Side”.

The thematic glue creates a structural framework unlike anything found on previous albums, resulting in a newfound sense of cohesion and depth: songs like ‘Rainin’ Babies‘ and ‘Five-Stop Mother Superior Rain‘  offer unforeseen levels of poignancy, while guitar freak-outs such as ‘Unconsciously Screamin‘ and ‘Mountain Side‘  slash and burn with remarkable potency.  There’s also a pretty sick cover of Louis Armstrong‘s ‘What a Wonderful World’.  And anyone familiar with other Lips cover tunes will already know exactly how vastly different and reinterpreted these covers can get and this is no difference.

For the Lips back in 1990, the future begins here.

In fact, you can click HERE for a pretty interesting discussion on why this album is such a standout for the band.

For my part, easily  the best $16.00 worth of beer I’ve ever spent.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

