Core

In the last 48 hours alone, I have covered 170k on the bike and another 15k running and I still have a swim workout to look forward to this evening.  And, yup, tomorrow I’m up early at stupid o’clock for more of this training bullshit.  Can you guess I’m getting a little tired?  Only 24 more days to go!

Anyway, this afternoons plan is for another quick and dirty core session (Day 116) on my mat over lunchtime with one of my recent Goodwill Hunting finds, the ‘Bluegrass Express‘  album by the Osborne Bros.

r-8403372-1460922586-8886-jpeg

This record was procured from the Value Village in St. Catharines for ¢50.

Yup, fitty-cent.

You could say that my smile at the time of this discover was as big as ‘ol Sonny and Bobby’s is on the album cover.

I’ve been on a bit of heavy Lordy Lordy and Jazz Boner binge lately, so I’m switching gears a bit today with this afternoons record selection and this album is as good a break as it’s going to get.

This album was a 1973 release on the MCA Records label aaaaaaaaand that’s about all I could learn about it on the Interweb thingee.  So instead, I’ll bore you with some interesting facts about the Osborne Bros. themselves.

  1. As part of their traveling ensemble, at times the brothers have included such other notable bluegrass musicians as Red Allen, Jimmy Martin, Enos Johnson, and Art Stamper.
  2. Sonny got his start playing with Bill “The Father of Bluegrass” Monroe, before both brothers took up playing with Jimmy Martin.
  3. The Osborne Brothers recorded their great hit ‘Rocky Top‘ in November 1967 and sold a whopping 85,000 copies in just two week.
  4. In 1973 the Osborne Brothers became the first bluegrass group to perform at the White House.
  5. The Osborne Brothers recorded two songs that would officially be voted as “state songs.” ‘Rocky Top‘,  was named a Tennessee state song in 1982 and ‘Kentucky‘, was later named a state song for their birth state.
  6. In 1994, The Osborne Brothers were inducted into the International Bluegrass Music Association’s Hall of Honor, which is considered bluegrass music’s highest honor.

So, yeah, not bad for fitty-cent eh?

The record itself looks like a ¢50 record so I didn’t have much hope for it’s quality.  But much to my surprise, where the cover looks like it’s been dragged through a country road the record itself is in pristine condition.

WINNING!

As far as the tracks themselves go, there is a lot of traditional bluegrass awesomeness going on here with such Twing Twang inspired track named like ‘Cut the Cornbread, Mama‘, ‘One Tear‘, ‘I Bowed On my Knees and Cried “HOLY!”‘ (which was awesome!), as well as the curious ‘Bugle On the Banjo‘.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

