Long Run (12k)

This morning was my return to “Kenya Day”  workouts out on the pavement in and around the Crystal Beach, Ridgeway, Sherkston, and Fort Erie area.  Yes, I certainly get around on Kenya Day.

I have to admit though , I’m apprehensive about this morning’s workout as I have had less than 11 hours to recovery from yesterday’s last long bike ride (140k) and subsequent brick run (30 minutes).  But it isn’t going to get any cooler or less humid out today so I’m up early – baggie of jube-jubes in hand (click HERE) – and out the door by 7:30am (okay, maybe 7:45am) with this live performance by Phish from the Molson Amphitheater in Toronto, Ontario (July 6th, 2000).

Image result for Phish from the Molson Amphitheater in Toronto, Ontario July 6th, 2000

This was my first indoctrinated foray into the whole “Phish scene”, including the tailgate party, the numerous “imbibables” and the over-the-top live performances that Phish are known for.

Let’s just say there’s a lot  of going on before and during the concert itself.

I went with a bunch of friends from the Merchant Ale House and, boy, was it a day.  Truth be told, I don’t remember much of it – as is typically the case when it comes to the Phish post-concert lot party – but I do remember grinning from ear-to-ear the entire time.  so much, my cheeks hurt for days afterwards.

This show had a lot of highlights, including ‘Moma Dance‘, ‘First Tube‘, an extended ‘You Enjoy Myself‘, and a stunning ‘Limb by Limb> 2001‘ segue that will melt your face – – in the good way, of course.  There is also a rousing ‘Piper‘ and riveting ‘Harry Hood‘.  As far as first performances go, this was definitely a doozy to bust your inaugural Phish cherry on.

The run however, was no stellar.  In fact, it was a total grind.  Partly because my body was lacking in strength and energy (although ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning were ready to go) due to the minimal recovery time from the day previous, and partly because this was the first time I have had to really deal with humidity this summer.  Whatever it was, there was lots of walking intervals  and, ultimately, I pulled the plug after a mere 12 kilometers (click HERE) as no amount of jube-jubes was going to get me through another hour or so of running.

I’m frustrated of course, but I’m opting to listen to my body and error on the side of caution and hope that this evening’s double run goes a little better.

Disclaimer:  it didn’t (click HERE).

Anyway, you win some; you loose some.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

