Easy Run (6.5k)

Time for one last workout before feasting and hitting the sack for an early wake-up to fly out Burnaby, BC tomorrow.  Best part?  It’s an EASY workout…God I love this “Recovery Week” stuff.  My easy 6.5k running tunes then are an easy-going live Jazz Boner album by Nina Simone, ‘Nina Simone At Newport‘.

r-958638-1336873654-5515-jpeg

This represents Nina’s s second live album for Colpix, recorded at the Newport Jazz Festival on June 30th,1960.

For whatever reason, The Newport Jazz Festival always seemed to bring out the best in Nina Simone. Perhaps it was the outdoor setting or the challenge of moving an audience easily distracted by the elements. When Nina knew she had the crowd – and she played there six times before the festival relocated to New York – she refused to let go until her final bow.  She liked to leave them asking for more, and they always did.

Nina first performed at Newport in June 1960,  less than a year after her single, ‘I Love You Porgy‘, from George Gershwin’s ‘Porgy and Bess‘, became a hit.  Her performance in the summer of 1966 so entranced a music writer from Boston that he was still talking about it to his readers four months later when she played a small club outside the city. The audience had actually cheered so loudly the MC couldn’t introduce the next festival act until he let Nina return to the stage for one more which was nice touch this evening as, despite my non-impressive easy pace, made it seem like the crowd was cheering for me…

And I may have have just raised my arms in triumph and acknowledged them like I had just won my Ironman in record time with a gutsy and inspiring performance.

Of course, all I really got was a strange look from the sole dog-walker out on the Friendship Trail at the time.

Oh well.

Yay me, anyway.

Truth be told, the legs and lungs felt good and I had to remind myself that the point today was not necessarily go fast and to slow  down.  Even still, my “easy pace” was more of a moderate tempo at 5:33min/km pace, especially during her rousing foot stomping rendition of ‘Little Liza Jane‘.

Serious.

Hurrah for Recovery Week!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

