Tuesday Evening Vinyl

Well, the first day on my new work schedule is over (Disclaimer:  it blew) so now I’m trying to relax a little with a few Grillem’s, some kale salad and a glass of Brimstone Brewery‘s Last Ride  along with a little live Jazz Boner with this ‘Carnegie Hall Concerts: December 1944‘  album by Duke Ellington.

duke_ellington_the2bduke2bellington2bcarnegie2bhall2bconcerts2b-2bdecember2b1944-404775

This was another of the great finds I found at The Bop Shop in Rochester, NY a few weekends ago.

This particular set was recorded at Carnegie Hall, in New York City in 1944 and released on the Prestige label in 1977.

At the time, the Ellington orchestra was undergoing some personnel (and personality) changes during this era, none of it terribly unexciting.  This particular concert introduced Ellington’s ‘Perfume Suite‘, and includes a half-hour series of selections from ‘Black, Brown and Beige‘, but also in the shorter pieces shows the impact of tenorman Al Sears and high-note wizard Cat Anderson on the band’s sound, making it a more potentially boisterous and extroverted ensemble.  My particular favorites include a terrific rendition of ‘It Don’t Mean A Thing‘  and ‘ Frankie & Johnny‘.  So, yeah… lots of great moments from this brilliant orchestra occurred during this concert.

For me?

Well, let’s just say that’s it’s doing well to bring me back down from the brink of total mental collapse after a long day in Corporate Hell.  And if really  digging my big band jazz lately is wrong then, baby, I don’t wanna be right.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

