Yoga Stretch

Truthfully, ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning feel great  after this morning long run.  However, there is still the double run later on to contend with so this afternoon I’m being proactive and investing in a little quiet time on my yoga mat on my lunchtime working out what few kinks there are.

And as it happens, I have the PERFECT thing to listen to, a recording of the ‘Mushroom Ceremony Of The Mazatec Indians Of Mexico‘ featuring Maria Sabina.

a1077721259_10

I gotta give a hand to Uncle Lance, when he finds something interesting it’s really fucking interesting.

He procured this for me (I believe) on a recent trip to New York City because, hey, what better souvenir could one ever come home with from the Big Apple other than the recording of a bunch of hopped up Mexican Indians, right?

Originally, this album was recorded by V. P. & R. G. Wasson in Huautla de Jiménez, in the Mazatec Mountains in the northern corner of the State of Oaxaca, July 21, 1956 for the Smithsonian Folkways Records series.  However, it must have been hugely popular (how could it not be?) because the good people at Death Is Not the End decided to re-release it just last year.

Essentially, this is a rough and ready field recordings featuring the voice of Maria Sabina (1894-1985) a Mexican curandera who would perform healing vigils known as veladas in Huautla de Jimenez, Oaxaca where all participants would ingest the various species of psilocybin mushrooms (Maria’s holy children), as a sacrament to open the gates of the mind and communicate with the sacred while she herself performed long, trance-induced incantations

So, yup, it’s exactly what it sounds like:  a bunch of Indians getting fucked up on zoomers.

And it’s awesome.

Not be a total stranger to “magic mushrooms” in my young and wild carefree days, I can assure you, my own mushroom ceremonies never sounded like this.  Fortunately, there are liner notes that include the complete lyric transcriptions so that I can follow along in downward dog pose as to what these crazy In’juns are chanting about.

Yeah, it ain’t something you’re going to put on at parties sure (well, most parties that I go to these days anyway) but it is certainly an amazing addition to my collection of Cornball albums.

Uncle Lance…you sir, rock!

And to all my other practicing yogi’s and spiritual, hocus-pocus types out there:

EAT YOUR HEART OUT!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl, Yoga and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

