Long Run (24k)

I am attempting something this morning that I have not done in a very, very long time:  run long.  I typically HATE running in the morning – period – but my schedule being what it is this week (and this weekend for that matter), I have little choice; shit has just got to get done.  So I’m up, fed, fueled and with a little luck I can get this 24k early morning slog done.  Keeping me company this on this stupid ass early run is the Steve Earle album ‘Magnetized Motherfuckers‘.

front

So, yeah, as you can see it was nearly two and a half hours of catchy ditties, engaging stories, left wing politics, profound revelations and more than an adequate amount of four letter superlatives…as you might expect from Earle.

Essentially, this three disc set is of live tracks, B-sides, promo-only songs, collaborations, duets, tribute album and compilation contributions.  And, yes, there are lots of interesting covers from other renown artists like Bruce Springsteen (twice!), The Rolling Stones, Jimmie Rodgers, Gram Parsons, Buddy Holly, Jerry Jeff Walker, Townes Van Zandt, The Waterboys, and Nirvana.

Yes, Nirvana.

How’s that for a breadth of influence?

So, yeah, needless to say there is LOTS of cool shit going on here to keep my mind off the pain in my feet and fatigue in my legs, not to mention how much further I still needed to go.

But in all seriousness, the run went well.

Like, really well.

I felt good, my energy levels were high and ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning didn’t complain hardly at all.  In fact, I kind of dug this early morning running thing, well, if it wasn’t for the whole needing to get up at the ungodly hour of 4:30am to adequately eat, caffeinate and poop so I don’t either bonk or shit my running shorts.  The roads were misty and quiet and there was no one around aside from a few bunnies, deer, a fox, a few crazy ass dog walkers and the odd asshole motorist who is apparently either late for work or hasn’t opened his eyeballs yet.

Getting to munch on wine gums before 8:00am is a definite perk as well.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

