Thursday Evening Vinyl

I’m stressed…the…fuck…out.

Between recent developments at work and getting down to the wire with the Ironman schedule, both my mind and body feel 100% fatigued.  And then there’s the long run early tomorrow morning to deal with, the double run in the evening, a long bike ride on Saturday on strange roads followed by a brick run and then the season opener for the SunRype Tri-Kids series on Sunday and…breathe, dude…just breathe.  Luckily I have an official “Recovery Week” next week so all I have to do now is focus, relax and simply…just…get…there.

Needless to say, either my tempo ride this morning (thanks to the weather) or my progression run (thanks to my mood) happened today.  No, I realized I was beginning to ask a bit too much from myself so instead, I dropped HRH  off at her Leader’s Corp and cam home to simply sit at my kitchen counter and tap out a few chapters of the “book”, sip at a Brimstone Brewing Last Ride  and listen to this ‘Live From San Francisco‘  album by moe.

418458128839284

moe. is the preeminent progressive rock band on the music scene today – a quintet of world class musicians, whose creative output equals that of their longevity.  In a remarkable career that has touched three decades and produced a discography of 24 albums, moe. continues to push the standard for performance art higher and further.

This was their first ever Record Store Day release and I didn’t get it.

Uncle Lance sure did though…two of them in fact, so here I am now with one of them after our weekend visit.

I knew it was coming out but, truthfully, I’m an old school moe. fan.  In other words, with the exception of ‘No guts, No Glory‘  which I bought on a whim (not to mention at a discount) I haven’t followed or listened to the band in years aside from the old bootlegs I own from “back in the day”.  What that really means is that just about every song on this album is new to me (well, live anyway) making this a completely new moe. experience for me.

So I hesitated and ultimately balked at picking it up.

But again, Uncle Lance to the rescue.

Here the band presents a spectacular double live album culled from an epic 2016 performance at the historic Fillmore in San Francisco.  ‘Live From San Francisco‘  has been mastered specifically for vinyl and is a very limited pressing of 1500 copies on beautiful red vinyl with black splatter.  The Tip-On gatefold packaging includes a deluxe soft touch coating with spot UV treatment and sequential gold foil stamping.  Sounds pretty fancy, eh?  Also included is a beautiful 4-page color photo booklet featuring a selection of photographs from this memorable performance.

The show opens with ‘Billy Goat‘  and jammed out into ‘Bearsong‘, whose time signatures are extremely different, but drummer Vinnie Amico somehow manages to gently guide the band through the twists and turns marking exactly why this band has been together and touring for nearly 25 years.  Fortunately, there are a few tracks I am somewhat familiar with from the aforementioned album and it’s nice to see how they transfer here to the live arena – well, I might add.

From beginning to end here, it’s one hell of a ride.

I’m even chalking it up to Dad Rock because, well, the band themselves are obviously older as am I and I’m sure they have kids now too (as do I) so, yeah, it seems to be an appropriate tag based on that.

While it might not be the most relaxing thing I could have chosen but it was sure successful in distracting me from my stress and anxiety by taking my mind on a fun roller-coaster ride of spacey cool psychedelic jams.

Okay, maybe I can  survive this weekend.

Maybe…

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

