Wednesday Evening Vinyl (Part 1)

My workouts are all complete for the day and I’m switching gears now into “Relax Mode”.  And of course, what’s “Relax Mode” without any heady vinyl goodness?  So I’m allowing HRH  to take control of the turntable and indulge in a little webejammin awesomeness with the ‘Kaya‘  album by Bob Marley.

IMG_1740

I know, I know, I mentioned previously in another post (click HERE) that I spent 15 minutes searching through only  Duke Ellington stuff at The Bop Shop…but I kinda lied.

I also browsed the reggae stuff too.

Sue me.

Of course, I mask this as my just supporting HRH  in her musical interests being the swell stepdad I am n’ all but, hey, this reggae stuff is really  starting to grow on me as well.

What can I say?

Kaya‘ continues what has become an unspoken tradition in the evolution of Bob Marley & the Wailers discography – blending western sounds and motifs with the icons and traditions from the very core of Jamaican society.

In fact, the very word “kaya” is synonymous with marijuana in Rastafarian culture. Likewise, the album Kaya could be easily construed as an open love letter or musical paean to the lifestyle that Marley so eagerly embraced and promoted.  Themes of commonality and unity pervade this release more so than previous albums.  Likewise, the overt political stances that had become somewhat of a moniker for Marley and the Wailers are temporarily replaced by timeless compositions, such as the eternally optimistic ‘Easy Skanking‘  and ‘Is This Love‘.  Marley had not – as some proclaimed – gone soft, however.  The light, at times practically giddy, rhythms on ‘Satisfy My Soul‘  contrast the darker brooding sonic and lyrical images on ‘Running Away‘.  The most pressings issues Marley deals with concern ever-increasing spiritual consciousness.  Throughout ‘Kaya‘, humble thanks is offered to, as well as guidance sought from, Jah – evidence that the spirituality that permeates the Wailers music is real and not lip service.

Personally, I think that the track ‘Sun Is Shining‘ is the total shit, I kid you not.  One of my favorite reggae songs, like, ever.

It’s just awesome.

This album could be considered the oasis before the political and personal eruptions that would inform and influence Marley and the Wailers next studio releases ‘Survival‘  and ‘Uprising‘.

Whatever.

And to be truthful for a moment, this album makes me wish I still smoked the ganja.

Honest.

How weird is it that I’m only getting into reggae now that I’m pot free?  HRH, however, definitely has some mixed feelings about the enormous corncob-sized spliff on the back of the album cover.

IMG_1741

What a square.

Anyway, as they say on the island:  “wi cya still agree dat dis a album mawd listening while helping mek dinna an otherwise bumping round di yaad inna total Relax Mode…mon.”

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

