Victoria Day Vinyl (Part 1)

It was back to the grindstone today for my annual Victoria Day long ride.  Except this year, I decided to ride my 120k directly into a gale force headwind because, well, just because.  And the cherry on top was getting to run another 4k off-the-bike immediately afterwards just for good measure because 120k of headwinds didn’t suck enough apparently.

Anyway, I am doing total buckus for the rest of the day aside from enjoying a glass (or two) of Brimstone Brewing Sinister Minister IPA, smashing a few sausages into my pie hole, hopefully a few chapters of my book (The Age of Daredevils by Michael Clarkson) as well as enjoying some good vinyl, beginning with this Desert Island album ‘The Colour of Spring‘ by Talk Talk.

61nnqbhqbfl

Because what’s a holiday without some awesome records, right?

This was a last minute Mother’s Day gift for Kelly seeing as how she likes her “mellow music” when relaxing upstairs.  Just so happens I too dig the mellow from time to time and this just happens to be one of my favorite albums of the mellow variety.

I found it at the St. Catharines Flea Market of all places for – get this – $5.00.  The vendor had another copy for $15.00 in the same condition front and center in his stall but, alas, had apparently forgotten about this other one tucked away in a cardboard box out of the way at the back.

Score.

With ‘It’s My Life‘, Talk Talk proved that they could pull off an entire album of strong material. With this album (released in 1986), they took it one step further, moving to a near-concept song cycle, following the emotional ups and downs of relationships and pondering life in general.

Musically, they built on the experimental direction of the previous album with interesting rhythms, sweeping orchestration, complex arrangements, and even a children’s chorus to create an evocative, hypnotic groove. Though the songs were catchier on the earlier efforts and the ambient experimentation was more fully achieved later on, ‘The Colour of Spring‘  succeeded in marrying the two ideas into one unique sound for their most thoroughly satisfying album.

It became the band’s highest selling non-compilation studio album, reaching the Top 20 in numerous countries (topping the Dutch charts), including their homeland (i.e. UK), where it reached #8 – and stayed in the UK charts for 21 weeks.

In a word, the album is gor-ge-ous

…like touching God’s boob.

Highlights include ‘Happiness Is Easy‘, ‘Life’s What You Make It‘, ‘Living in Another World‘ and ‘Give It Up‘ but, really, the whole thing needs to be enjoyed from beginning to end as a whole entity just as my other Desert Island album by the band, ‘Spirit of Eden‘.

If you want mellow, well look no further my friend.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

