Tuesday Evening Vinyl

It’s been a long day primarily spent in a virtual classroom.  How much fun is that?  Well let’s just say that I was really  looking forward to my 14.27k Progression Run afterwards and leave it at that.  Anyway, now that’s is all over I’m settling down for a hue ass glass of chocolate milk, a delicious Taco salad, and taking in a few chapters of my book (The Age of Daredevils by Michael Clarkson) while listening to Kelly’s Mother’s day gift, the ‘Songs From the Big Chair‘  album by Tears for Fears.

tears_for_fears_songs_from_the_big_chair

Can I multi-task or can I multi-task?

Anyway, I’m not gonna lie.

When Kelly mentioned that this  was the album she really wanted in our collection, my heart kind of sunk and brain had one of those ‘oh shit‘ moments.  Speaking honestly, I’ve never really been a huge appreciator of popular 80’s FM radio play (Tears for Fears included) but, hey, I’ve come to accept that my  collection is now longer my  collection, it’s our  collection and if I can tolerate things like Taylor Swift or, say, the Lego Soundtrack, then I can certainly tolerate a little TFF.

Now I have to say, that for a popular and hugely influential album of the 80’s, this is not a particularly easy album to find.  I had to visit multiple record stores in the area over several days until I was finally able to track it down.  In fact, I was practically laughed out of one altogether in a scene that could have been right of out High Fidelity (click HERE).

The things we do for the women in our lives, huh?

I won’t deny this albums influence in popular culture when it was released back in 1985 (peaking at #2 in the UK and #1 in the US and Canada).  Of course commercially it was a huge successful, containing no less than three huge radio hits, including the dramatic and insistent march, ‘Shout‘  and the shimmering, cascading ‘Head Over Heels‘, which, tellingly, is actually part of a song suite on the album.  But not only was it a commercial triumph, was it was also an artistic tour de force as well.  And in the loping, percolating ‘Everybody Wants to Rule the World‘, the band perfectly captured the zeitgeist of the mid-’80s while impossibly managing to also create a dreamy, timeless pop classic; one of the finest statements of the time.

Whatever it is, Kelly sure knows all the words and is not ashamed to sing them to herself from the comforts of her chair with a big shit-eating grin on her face.

And that  folks, is Mother’s Day money well-spent.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

