Yoga/Core

Yesterday was a hard grind out on the road with both a 62.5k hard push down the Niagara Parkway into the wind (I did however, win the final sprint after leading the lead out at 38kph so that’s pretty awesome) and then a disappointing 11.67k Progression Run in the afternoon (maybe I pushed too hard in the morning) so, thankfully, today is “Recovery Day”.  In fact, the other thing I want (need) to accomplish today is this slow and easy yoga/core workout; easy-peasy, lemon squeezy.  My soundtrack this afternoon for getting this is done is the ‘Coda‘  album by Led Zeppelin.

led_zeppelin_-_coda

Okay, I realize that maybe Led Zeppelin isn’t the most obvious accompaniment for a slow and easy yoga and core routine, but it is next up on the playlist of albums I have pulled out of my collection or re-listening to and I am feeling rather lethargic and uncreative today, so I’m just going with it.

On a similar note, today’s mat routine isn’t really just a core workout as I don’t really feel like doing any difficult jumping or skipping or whatever what’s on the docket for tomorrow.  Instead, there’s some planks (6 x 1 minute), crunches, squats, calf stands, v-sits, etc., mixed with some nice and gentle stretching and muscle maintenance.

Essentially, this is my workout equivalent of the Osmond’s “I’m a little bit country, and I’m a little bit rock ‘n roll”.

Released two years after the 1980 death of John Bonham, this is the album that tied up most of the loose ends the Zeps left hanging: it officially issued a bunch of tracks circulating on bootleg and it fulfilled their obligation to Atlantic Records.

Coda‘  doesn’t contain every non-LP track Zeppelin released – notably, the B-side ‘Hey Hey What Can I Do‘ (one of my favs actually) and anything from the BBC sessions were left untouched – but it does gather much of what was floating around in the wake of their demise, including three blistering rockers that were rejected for ‘In Through the Out Door’ (which I feel I will have to pull out again at some point).

If ‘Ozone Baby‘, ‘Darlene‘, or ‘Wearing and Tearing‘ – rockers that alternately cut loose, groove, and menace – had made the cut for ‘In Through the Out Door‘, that album wouldn’t have had its vague progressive edge and when they’re included alongside a revival of the band’s early raver ‘We’re Gonna Groove‘, the big-boned funk of the ‘Houses of the Holy‘  outtake ‘Walter’s Walk‘, and the folk stomp ‘Poor Tom‘ (naturally taken from the sessions for ‘Led Zeppelin III), they wind up underscoring the band’s often underappreciated lighter side.  For heaviness, there’s a live version of ‘I Can’t Quit You Baby‘  and ‘Bonzo’s Montreux‘, a solo showcase for the departed drummer and my personal favorite on the album, and when this pair is added to the six doses of hard-charging rock & roll, it amounts to a good snapshot of much of what made Led Zeppelin a truly epic band: when they were cooking, they really did groove.

The rest of my day today, when not running an insane amount of errands this evening is dedicated to hydrating and playing it cool about what’s going down tomorrow.  Oh, and there may one (okay, 2 or 3) of Kelly’s homemade Bailey’s infused butter tarts to boot.

I know, woe is me.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl, Yoga and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

