Cinco De Coro

It’s my “Active Recovery” day.

Thank Christ too, seeing as how there’s enough rain currently coming down to make Noah more than a little apprehensive.

But, thankfully, I’m done for the day.

So seeing as how my only workout (an easy morning 1750m  drill swim with HRH) is already accomplished that means I only have my usual 15 minutes of core (Day 103) to contend with.  And seeing as how it’s Cinco De Mayo today, I’m going with something with an obvious Latin flavor to it, the ‘Cha Cha Cha: For Swingin’ Partners‘  album by Pupi Prado and his Orchestra.

r-2732303-1441057429-8384-jpeg

Okay, I admit it.  This isn’t something I’d normally purchase (even 50 cents which is exactly how much I spent on it), but when I saw it while Goodwill Hunting yesterday, knowing that today was Cinco De Mayo, I figured ‘what the fuck?‘, I’ll be both festive and add to my collection of Cornball and Exotica albums while I’m at it.

Besides, the guys name is “Pupi”.

How much fun is that  too say?

So let’s start there, who is this Pupi dude anyway.

Well, the easy answer is ‘beats the shit out of me’.  I could find absolutely buckus on the guy using the ‘ol Google box; the dude is a total enigma.  Maybe he’s a fictitious blend of this and that bandleader.  Who knows for sure?  However, what I did learn is that this album was also released under the name Jose Cubano And His Orchestra.  How or why, again, beats the shit out of me.

So will the real Pupi please stand up?

Also uncertain about this album is the year it was released in but I’m guessing around the early 1960’s.  It was released on the low-budget Kent label and produced at the Arc Sound Ltd. located in Toronto, Ontario, not that that makes it special or anything.

As for the album itself it’s, it’s…well, it’s campy as shit honestly.

I mean, the girl on the front shaking her maracas while wearing what looks to be a dressing made out of fishing lures sure looks happy enough though, right?  But am I about to pull it out an play for friends and family at social gatherings?

Not bloody likely; pass the empanada.

It’s not exactly Mariachi, Marimba, Banda or, likely, anything Mexican at all (Cuban maybe?) but, still, short of snorting a Taco while tunneling under a wall somewhere and jabbing a bull in the ass with a spear, this is about as Cinco De Mayo as it’s going to get around here today.

Well, maybe not this Cinco De Mayo (click HERE)…but close enough.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

