Yoga Stretch

I’m feeling pretty proud of myself today.  In the last 4 days (since Monday), I’ve covered 7050m in the pool, 164k on the bike and another 24.6k on the road running (constituting 11 hours and 12 minutes in total – so far) AND  I still have the long workouts to come over the weekend (including a brick run, a double long run and a long ride – all of which promise to be in the rain); and none of this takes into account the core and weights routine I’ve been doing on the side.

You know – I’m starting to believe that maybe, just maybe, I can do this.

But before I get ahead of myself, I’m taking some quiet time in my underwear and on my yoga mat after work to make sure ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning get some well-deserved recuperative therapy time along with some recuperative Jazz Boner in the way of the awesome ‘Coltrane‘  album by John Coltrane.

coltrane_impulse_cover

Jazz and yoga simply go hand in hand.

Considered by many to be his finest single album, ‘Coltrane‘ finds, erm, Coltrane displaying all of the exciting elements that sparked brilliance and allowed his fully formed instrumental voice to shine through in the most illuminating manner.

On tenor saxophone, he’s simply masterful, offering the burgeoning sheets of sound philosophy into endless weavings of melodic and tuneful displays of inventive, thoughtful, driven phrases. Coltrane also plays a bit of soprano saxophone as a primer for his more exploratory work to follow.  Meanwhile, bassist Jimmy Garrison, drummer Elvin Jones, and especially the stellar McCoy Tyner have integrated their passionate dynamics into the inner whole of the quartet.  The result is a most focused effort, a relatively popular session to both his fans or latecomers, with five selections that are brilliantly conceived and rendered.

Out of This World‘, at over 14 minutes in modal trim, is a powerful statement, stretched over Tyner’s marvelous and deft chords, the churning rhythms conjured by Jones, and the vocal style Coltrane utilizes as he circles the wagons on this classic melody, including a nifty key change. ‘Tunji‘  is a mysterious, easily rendered piece which speaks to the spiritual path Coltrane tred, a bit riled up at times while Tyner remains serene.  Hard bop is still in the back of their collective minds during ‘Miles’ Mode‘, a sliver of a melody that jumps into jam mode in a free-for-all blowing session, while the converse is to be found in Mal Waldron’s ‘Soul Eyes‘, the quintessential ballad and impressive here for the way Coltrane’s holds notes, emotion, and expressive intellectuality.  On soprano you can tell Coltrane is close to taking complete control of his newly found vocals, as a playful, jaunty ‘The Inch Worm‘  is only slightly strained, but in which he finds complete communion with the others.

Even more than any platitudes one can heap on this extraordinary recording, it historically falls between the albums ‘Olé Coltrane‘  and ‘Impressions‘ – completing a triad of studio efforts that are as definitive as anything Coltrane ever produced, and highly representative of him in his prime.

Yay me for having found this used at Niagara Records a few weeks back for only a few bucks.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

