Speed Run (11.15k)

I only have the one workout today (yay!) but it’s still no walk in the park.  Yeah, ;like I ever get those anymore.  My workout calls for 30 x 30 second sprints and another 15 minutes at my half marathon pace immediately afterwards.

Doesn’t sound too hard, right?

The fuck.

Anyway, my motivation for this 11.15k of hard fought ground is the ‘Attack & Release‘  album by The Black Keys.

black-keys

Any, yes, I know that today is “May the Fourth Be With You’, but I’m not terribly nerdy and I don’t think that a spacey John Williams score is gonna cut it out there on the road today.

Just sayin’…

I borrowed this from the library for just such an occasion and prior to last week, I didn’t even know it existed.

Way to go Crystal Beach library!

This was the bands 5th album, released in 2008, and sees the band transitioning away from their “homemade” ethos to record-making; not only was it the first time that the band completed an album in a professional studio, but it was also the first time they hired an outside producer to work on a record (Danger Mouse).

The album debuted at #14 on the Billboard 200, was ranked #83 on Rolling Stones list of the Greatest Albums of the 2000′ and the sole single ‘I Got Mine‘  was #3 on Rolling Stones list of the 100 Best Songs of 2008.  In 2012, the album was certified gold in Canada.

What intrigued me about this album is that it features avant guitarist Marc Ribot who offers a kind of restless, textural roots-aware rock reminiscent of the Black Keys rebellious spirit, if not quite the sound, of Elvis Costello and Tom Waits, two mavericks Ribot has played with in years past.

Oh, and here’s an interesting note: the album was originally intended as a collaboration with Ike Turner, who died before it could happen.

Cool, right?

All in all, it’s “garagy”, it’s bluesy-rocky, it’s batshit-fucking-bonkers.  It’s also definitely adequate for 30 x 30 second blasts down Thunder Bay and Sawmill Roads on an otherwise overcast, gloomy, and drizzly cold day where I’d just simply rather be on the couch eating Ring-Ding’s.  Definitely some mental hardness conditioning happening today.

Also adding to today’s challenges were the swarms of little bugs along the entire route.  I must have swallowed my body weight in gnats, sand fleas and the like; never mind the billion or so that are currently stuck to my sweaty cheeks and forehead.

Disgusting.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Speed and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

