Core

Today is an “easy-ish” workout day with only a 75 minute speed run to accomplish so there’s little excuse this afternoon for not completing Day 102 of my on-going core program.

Today’s vinyl pleasure is the ‘Mountain Folk Song Concert‘  album.

palace720

This is the second of my “Goodwill Hunting” finds from this past Tuesday and it jumped out at me for a few reasons.

First, it featured both The “Sensational” Stanley Brothers and Carl Story of the Grand Ole Opry.  If you don’t know who either of those acts are, you should hang your head in shame.  There’s a bunch of other guys on it as well as Hank Varney, Jack Campbell, Roy Smiley & Red Barnes, Clifton Henson, Bob Miller, Jimmy & Wayne Sanders and the Horton Brothers.

All less famous, but no less awesome.

The album features these old school artists, showcasing the 5-string banjo at a live performance in Nashville, Tennessee at something called the “Silver Anniversary Concert Series”, judging by the banner behind the stage on the front cover.  Anyway, the back cover advertises the concert as being a “finger-pickin, toe-tappin, singin and pickin’ bluegrass”  good time.

Yup, I’m counting on it.

Besides, being the bluegrass aficionado that I am, how can I pass that shit up for a buck?

The second reason why this album piqued my interest is that it is a Canadian produced album with this iconic logo:

IMG_1723

I’ve seen this logo around but few and far between.

In fact, as I was admiring this record another vinyl freak beside me commented that he actually collected albums specifically with this Maple-Leaf logo.  “Thankfully”, he was quick to mention, “I already own that album so you can have it”.

Well, la-di-da.

Gee thanks, mister.

Like he ever stood a chance at wrestling it from my grasp anyway.

This record has lots of definite worn marks and it’s rife with snaps, crackles and pops (even after I scoured about 3 inches of accumulated gunk from it) which, truthfully, only enhances the listener experience if you ask me.

Good find; good (and inexpensive) addition to the ‘ol collection.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

