Yoga Stretch

I ventured out early this morning for what was supposed to be the regular Tuesday group ride but I was the only one who showed, meaning I had to forgo the next 2 hours (58.1k) worth of wind, rain and chill along the Niagara Parkway and surrounding area alone.  Afterwards, I ran an 80 (14k) minute progression run so I hadn’t really planned on completing a another workout this afternoon but I’m figuring that a little light yoga stretch now wouldn’t be the worst idea ever so, yeah, that’s what I’m doing now.

The other upshot of this is, of course, that there’s always more heady vinyl goodness to enjoy as a result, and today that heady vinyl goodness is the ‘Live at the Victory Theatre‘  album by the Mainline Bump n’ Grind Review.

r-2996223-1488509747-5066-jpeg

I have posted about this album once before on another “secret blog” of mine that I post to infrequently (click HERE) but that was nearly three years ago so I’m figuring then that then gives me the creative green light to go ahead and post about it again.

What might immediately jump at you from the album cover are the two huge badonkadonk’s that eloquently frame a very happy looking beaver between them.

Nope, no subliminal inferences being made there.

The album is a live burlesque style performance at the now defunct Victory Theatre (located on the corner of Spadina and Dundas) in Toronto, Ontario on Sunday, February 27th, 1972 and featuring two of Canada’s premiere musicians, Joe Mendelson and Mike McKenna (aka the McKenna-Mendelson Mainline).

Okay, yeah, it was blues-rock concert performed in a strip joint but, still, what that really equates to is just one shit ton of fun, let me tell you!

Well-known at the time for their live performances, McKenna and Medelson’s incessant gigging granted them slots playing alongside names like the Jeff Beck Group, and on the British circuit, the Bonzo Dog Band, Fleetwood Mac and the nascent Led Zeppelin. In 1972, under the more representative moniker of Mainline Bump ‘n’ Grind Revue, the band recorded this live album, featuring several inspired originals along with reputable versions of songs by Big Joe Williams, Johnny Young, Jimmy Smith, Leadbelly, and even a surprising ‘Misty’  by Erroll Garner.  And, believe me when I tell you that when these guys get cooking, not even a cold day in the Canadian Rockies can stop them.

Also interesting about this album is that is also credits one D. Debolt, who is actually Daisy Debolt, longtime Canadian vocalist and session singer, one half of the folk singing duo of Frazier and Debolt. They issued only one self-titled album on Columbia in 1970 (both in Canada and the US) that I am aware of so this album is kind of unique in that way as well.

All in all, it’s  been a pretty good training day and seeing as how my yoga attire at the moment consists of black undies and matching knee-length compression socks and little else (in fact, nothing else), this stripper rock seems like a pretty appropriate companion wouldn’t you say?

Now, if only someone would tuck a sawbuck into my waistband of my undies I’d be all set.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl, Yoga and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

