Monday Night Vinyl

Now that it’s all over and done with today, I’m settled down to some of Kelly’s gluten-free lasagna (yes, it’s gluten free and it’s fucking awesome you haters!) and trying to console myself with the fact that Mother Nature is about to deliver me one shit storm of a training week to deal with so tonight’s listen is mellow…very mellow…like ‘Hard Settle, Ain’t Troubled‘  by Donovan Woods kind of mellow.

IMG_1722

Donovan was another of the singer-songwriters that descended on The Sanctuary last night as part of the ‘Writes of Spring‘  concert.  I had really hoped that they’d have this album for purchase, but an hour before the bands were to take the stage the merchandise girl was in the throes of some total meltdown so I left empty-handed.

Well, empty-handed besides the sole Hey Rosetta!  album that she did manage to pull out of the numerous boxes in that time anyway.

Enter Nadine for the rescue!

And signed no less.

Suuuuuuuu-WEET!

Donovan Woods was raised in the small city of Sarnia, Ontario, to the sounds of country music, with a healthy dose of folk and pop, a combination that instilled in him a strong belief in the power of a memorable melody, the importance of everyday language and the impact of a well-crafted song.  This acclaimed 4th album received a 2016 Polaris Music Prize nomination, landed him on the CBC Music “Best 25 Canadian Albums of the Year” list and won him the Canadian Folk Music Awards “Songwriter of the Year.”

Here’s all you really need to know though:  it’s good.

Like, crazy good.

Like, “where have you been all my life?”  good.

Tracks like ‘What Kind of Love Is That?‘, ‘Do I Know Your Name?‘, and ‘May 21, 2012‘  are haunting, yet tender and sweet.  It’s something that’s going to be on very regular rotation on both the upstairs and downstairs turntables for some time yet.

It’s the perfect listen on a cool May evening while Mother Nature throws down her total bullshit from the sky outside, taunting me with the promise of a very cold and wet ride in the morning.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

