Walk of Shame (2k)

You win some, you loose some and for the last 7-8 workouts or so this week I’ve definitely been winning.

Yay me!

Confidence soaring.

This afternoon, however, that pendulum definitely swung in the opposite direction.  After a nearly two hour blast in the bike early this morning, I launched into what I hoped would resemble a tempo run this afternoon.  Never mind that’s 26° (feels like 30°) outside or that there’s currently 60% humidity…I can do this!

Right?

Wrong.

I mean, the first 12 minutes (2.5k) or so went totally awesome.

I felt great.

I was managing a 5:00min/km pace…easily.

Everything was turning over nicely, my breathing was under control, the legs felt good and then *POOF* … nothing.

Zero.

Nada.

Zilch-er-ino.

Nothing.

Before I know it I was submitting to needing a few walking intervals and then come the 6k mark – fuck it – I’m walking.

Just walking.

Confidence gone.

It’s lile someone through the OFF switch on my body.  So off goes the “tough guy” playlist and on comes ‘The Stability‘ EP by Death Cab for Cutie for the final 2k walk of shame through town with my tail between my legs.

41up6p0u9ul

Fuck.

It.

This was a limited edition EP by the coveted Indie rockers released in February of 2002.  Besides the 12 minute long title track there’s three other numbers, the slow ‘20th Century Towers‘, ‘All Is Full Of Love’ (a Bjork cover), and the really short ‘Gridlock Caravans‘.

But, really, who gives a shit.

My run sucked.

Woe is me.

Time for a cold shower.

Oh, did I mention that our hot water heater isn’t working?

FML.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Walk and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

