Core

It’s back to the grind today with a “Triple Duty” training day:  swim (this morning), bike and short Brick Run (after work).  Well, actually I suppose it’s a quadruple training day because I also have this Day 99 of my 100 Day Challenge (click HERE) to complete as well.  For the occasion I am listening to the ‘A Hardcore Package‘  album by John Mayall.

john-mayall-hard-core-package

This is the second to last album in my catalog of “Cranky John” albums.  I found it at the St. Catharines Flea Market not long ago and it looks like it belonged to the CFBU record library at some point as well.

Released in 1977 on ABC Records, I suspect this is one of the lesser known Mayall albums out there.  In fact, if you Google it you will surprising turn up very little so I am flying solo on this one.

As ever, the band lineup is 100% eclectic; Steve Thompson (bass),  Soko Richardson (drums), Ann Patterson (flute), Jody Linscott (percussion) and a bunch of brass, horns and back-up singers to boot.  Needless to say, there’s a lot of shit going on here.

The album cover boasts “10 Funky New Songs” and that’s exactly what it is.  Mayall has always offered a unique twist on the blues by constantly reinventing himself and this album is certainly no different, this time gearing itself more towards the “cheese funk” that was gaining popularity at the time.  ‘Do I Please You‘ is likely the album’s best example of this in effect; it could easily have been a TV sitcom theme.

Other interesting tracks include the lead off track ‘Rock n’ Roll Hobo‘ (which is classic Mayall), ‘The Last Time‘, and ‘Goodnight Dreams‘.

While the album may not necessarily be the “hardcore package” as advertised (“softcore” might be more like it), it is still certainly a fun listen.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

