Core

Today’s planned fartlek run is once again up for “creative implementation” seeing as how Mother Nature is currently raining down with the shit.  Either it stops later on and I will head out, or I will have to take it to the ‘dreadmill.  What isn’t up for debate is my daily lunchtime core workout (Day 98) with the last of my Record Store Day purchases, the ‘Discipline 27-II‘  by Sun Ra.

r-1498753-1280904457-jpeg

Recorded during the same 1972 sessions as Impulse’s ‘Space Is the Place‘, this album is definitely cut from the same cloth.  The title cut is a side-long (24:27) space chant number (just like ‘Space Is the Place‘), presumably recorded as one lengthy piece, although the tune itself is divided into three sections (radio edits?).

And, hey, just listen to these chants:

“What I thought I am, I am not.  What was an is, is not.  What dreams were mine, I am not.  the laughter, the tears, the fleeting years.  Like pages read and turned are not.  Gone like a sigh, or a bird swift in sudden flight.”

That’s some pretty deep shit to plank to, let me tell you!

However, listeners also get another in the instrumental Discipline series (Ra composed and recorded many “Disciplines” throughout the ’70s); this time it’s ‘Discipline 8′‘Neptune‘  is another great space chant (“Have you heard the latest thing from Neptune?”), but the standout track is ‘Pan Afro‘, a great blowing session built on Ra’s trademark interlocking horn riffs.

Up to this point, this album has been a tough one to find, but thanks to it’s resurrection this past Saturday, I am finally able to check it off my “To Find” list once and for all.  All in all, these lengthy compositions lend themselves well for long periods of planking, deep squatting, crunching and the dreaded “V-sit’s”.

We’ll just have to see how the next workout fares later on.

C’mon, Mother Nature…work with me!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

