Weights

Now that my easy drill run is complete, I still have another hour or soto kill while HRH finishes up with her Leader’s Corp so I may as well use the time to – you know – pump some iron n’ shit.

As it happens, I have ‘Machismo‘ by Gomez on my iPod.

00-gomez-machismo-ep-2000

How appropriate it that for an impromptu He-man workout with the heavy iron?

This is a quick and dirty 5-track EP released in 2000 on Hut/Virgin Records.  This showcases the UK indie rockers taking new gambles, trying innovative sounds, while carrying forward the bluesy Britpop of their first two albums.  I’m still a bit of a Gomez noob so this is, really, my first chance to familiarize myself with the band.

I’m not sure why I’ve avoided this band for so long.  I think it had something to do with the band name – I hate it.  I mean, Gomez?  Really?  Is it an homage to the Addams Family, and can I expect to hear a lot of trumpet and mariachi bullshit?

As it turns out:  no.

The EP opens with the title track, ‘Machismo‘ (which samples an impromptu line from everyone’s favorite street magician/performer David Blaine), which has a remarkably bluesy cadence, collating it with an apparently nonsense refrain that hints at greater depths. ‘Touchin’ Up‘  starts out with a country-sounding acoustic guitar riff, progressing into a muscular synth rumble that presages their more recent studio material.  Between its extreme length and slow bass rumble, the closing track, ‘Dajon Song‘, resembles nothing so much as early Doors.

It’s all enjoyable enough to do some squats and bench presses to I suppose.

Good enough that I might even listen to some more on future gym visits even.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

