Core & The Monday Corporate Blues

I have officially entered into my second recovery week; a good thing too after all the activity over the past 72 hours (80k bike, 10,000m swim, 12k run, 1 huge ass ham).

And recovery week today begins with a whole lot of buckus.

However, I did take a short break over the Easter weekend from my daily core workouts given everything else that was going on so I am proceeding with that routine this week in lieu of any other serious workouts – and, for the record, today’s Day 92 is my first stab at a 6 minute plank so we’ll see how that goes.  Anyway, during this mornings mat routine and throughout the workday I’m spinning the ‘Waiting for Columbus‘  album by Little Feat.

51ldqlr8yzl-_sy355_

I’ve owned this album for, geez, it might just be among the first albums I ever owned.  I found it at a church bizarre around the corner from my house for a nickel after wandering in high looking for home made jam.

Truth.

Anyway, this copy is a bit worn and rife with snaps, crackles and pops but that’s only because it’s well played and well loved over the years – as it should be, mind you.

Waiting for Columbus‘  is the first live double album by the band recorded during seven performances in 1977.  The Feat were one of the legendary live bands of the ’70s, showered with praise by not only their small, fiercely dedicated cult of fans, but such fellow musicians as Bonnie Raitt, Robert Palmer, and Jimmy Page.

The first four shows recorded here were held at the Rainbow Theatre in London on August 1st–4th and the final three shows were recorded in George Washington University’s Lisner Auditorium on August 8th–10th that same summer in Washington, D.C..  Local Washington radio personality Don “Cerphe” Colwell can even be heard leading the audience in a “F-E-A-T” spell out in between the first (‘Join the Band‘) and second (‘Fat Man in the Bathtub‘) tracks.  The band were even backed by the Tower of Power horn section (with whom they had recorded in previous studio sessions) through this particular run of shows resulting in what would become one of their biggest selling albums.

The odd thing about this particular album is that it was recorded around the same time as their first real decline in popularity.  However, this album still captures much of the bands former awesomeness.  The versions here of classic Feat numbers (including ‘Dixie Chicken‘, ‘Spanish Moon‘, ‘Willin‘, ‘Sailing Shoes‘, et al.) are full-bodied and fully-realized, putting the studio cuts to shame.  Early classics like ‘Fat Man in the Bathtub‘  and ‘Tripe Face Boogie‘ aren’t as revelatory, but it’s still a pleasure to hear a great band run through their best songs, stretching them out and finding new quirks within them.

Some critics cite the album as a bit flawed due to the band trying to stretch the performances a bit too far, veering toward excessive jamming on occasion.  Personally, I don’t think this is a bad thing at all and, hey, when you’re trying to push out negative thoughts while holding a 6 minute plank, this extended noodling is much appreciated – thank you very much!  Who cares that these jams are usually centered around such themes as whiskey, cocaine, weed, loose women and lonely truck drivers?

Not this fat planker, that’s for sure!

The album has also been listed at #49 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the Greatest Live Albums of All Time (click HERE)*, so pay these critics no mind, believe me.

P.S.> Oh, and as far as the 3 minute plank goes…nailed it.

*I would also like to take a moment here to brag that I have exactly 16  albums from this list in my collection with another 5 on my current “To Find…” list.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

