Fartlek Run (10.83k)

My long run on Sunday was a flaming pile of dog shit.  Total dumpster fire.  Partly because of the near 6 hours of activity on the Sunday, partly because I hadn’t fueled adequately before heading out.  Either way, it sucked ass.

This afternoon then I’m go try and reclaim a little bit of that damaged confidence with another 5 x (4 minutes HARD / 1 minute recovery) intervals over 10.83k worth of hard-earned pavement up and down Thunder Bay Rd. with the ‘Hit & Run Holiday‘  album by My Life With the Thrill Kill Kult.

hit_26_run_holiday

TKK’s take on sleazy excess is comparable to the holy trinity of everything that does not embody a fit and healthy lifestyle – namely, the inherent kitsch value of sex, drugs, and Satan.  It does however, lend to some good moments for cadence running.

So be it.

As the band describes it, ‘Hit & Run Holiday‘ (1995) has a “surf-punk meets Motown” sound that tells the story of vixen Krystal Starlust and drifter Apollo.  And true to form, it contains such gems as the surf rock romp ‘Glamour Is a Rocky Road‘  (with its lipstick-smeared drama overdoses and cheap tricks), the supercharged ‘Hot Blood Risin’‘ (“Just a holiday chaser in search of my destiny/Come on, get in!”), and the blissed-out instrumental outro piece, ‘The Last Ride Out‘.  Definitely sunnier than some of TKK’s earlier work, ‘Hit & Run Holiday‘s  vibe is closer to a ’50s B-movie beach party than an after-hours S&M club – hence no Doom n’ Gloom tags with this album as I have with the others.

Considering it absolutely down-poured approximately 15 minutes before I headed out the door and I had all but given in to the notion of putting the run off until this evening at the gym’s ‘ol dreadmill, it was absolutely ideal conditions out for running this afternoon.  Well, for the first part anyway.  When Mother Nature decided to switch off the faucet after teeming down for 10 minutes or so I jumped at the offered gift and headed out.

This was the first fartlek this year that I feel like I nailed.  I mean, as well as you can nail a fartlek run anyway.  Of course it still sucked as it’s supposed to, but I managed all five my 4 minute intervals and then another three 3 minute interval too boot – in a brief but cold downpour no less.  Other successes for the run include my fastest overall pace of 5:38min/km (that’s including the warm up, warm down and 1 minute rest breaks in between intervals) this year as well as having covered over 200m more in distance in less than one minutes time.  That’s almost  a return to form to where I was at this point last year just after the Ironman plug got pulled (click HERE) as well as some of my 2014 speed runs along this same route.

Not exactly monumental of course, but after the total shit show on Sunday I’m very happy with that.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment