Friday Night Vinyl

It’s Friday night and we be jammin’ to Bob Marley‘s ‘Catch A Fire‘, mon.

IMG_1678

Yup.

That’d be my 12-year-old step daughter with a Rasta guy smoking the biggest spliff I’ve ever seen (that’s my story anyway and I’m sticking to it).

So, yeah, I guess nominations are now being accepted for “Step-Dad of the Year”.

HRH  has certainly been digging the reggae music as of late so when we came across this seminal Wailers album in one of the used bins at Niagara Records in downtown St. Catharines there a little excitement and maybe just a little hyperventilating and I knew right then that we weren’t leaving the store without it.

This album was was the major label debut for Bob Marley and the Wailers, and it was an international success upon its release in 1973.  Although Marley may have been the main voice, every member of the Wailers made valuable contributions and they were never more united in their vision and sound.

All the songs were originals, and the instrumentation was minimalistic in order to bring out the passionate, often politically charged lyrics.  Much of the appeal of the album lies in its sincerity and sense of purpose – these are streetwise yet disarmingly idealistic young men who look around themselves and believe they might help change the world through music. Marley sings about the current state of urban poverty (‘Concrete Jungle‘) and connects the present to past injustices (‘Slave Driver‘), but he is a not a one-trick pony.

Personally, I really dig ‘No More Trouble‘.

However, Bob is a versatile songwriter who also excels at singing love songs such as his classic ‘Stir It Up‘.

Peter Tosh sings the lead vocal on two of his own compositions ‘400 Years‘  and ‘Stop That Train‘ – his powerful presence and immense talent hint that he would eventually leave for his own successful solo career.  More than anything else, however, this marks the emergence of Bob Marley and the international debut of reggae music.  Marley would continue to achieve great critical and commercial success during the 1970s, but ‘Catch a Fire‘  is one of the finest reggae albums ever.  This album is essential for any music collection.

And seeing as how tonight’s dinner is hot dogs and Kraft Dinner, geez, you’d think we were really “smokin’ a bone, man”  as HRH  herself would say.

I wonder from wherever she learned that?

I’m innocent I tellz ya!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

