Core

Mother Nature is doing her best today to deter me from getting outside for my planned tempo run (there’s currently a “heavy rainfall” warning being issued) so I might need to take it to the “dreadmill” later on.  However, this is no excuse for not accomplishing Day 86 of my mat workout along to the ‘Pink Panthersoundtrack by Henry Mancini.

henry-mancini-and-his-orchestra-the-pink-panther-theme-de-rose-panter-rca-victor

Clearly, this is another album in my collection that has seen better days.

I don’t remember how I came about owning it but it looks like I might have found it in a trash bin somewhere but, c’mon, still…it’s the freakin’ Pink Panther.

It deserves better!

After all, who doesn’t have fond memories of the that oh, so familiar: Duh-dah, duh-dah, duh-dah, duh-dah, duh-dah, duh-dah, duh-daaaaaaaa…“? 

C’mon, admit it.

This is what goes through your head every time you try to sneak up on something or someone, right?  Of course it does!

I know this is exactly what goes through mine.

This theme is as timeless as it is awesome.

Cheeky pink phallus-shaped jungle cats aside, this super-sneaky title track to the album was written as the theme for the 1963 Blake Edwards film starring Peter Sellers as Inspector Clouseau which was subsequently nominated for the 1964 Academy Award for Best Original Score.  It didn’t win, but it was issued as a single (in the United States) in 1964 and reached the Top 10 on the U.S. Billboard adult contemporary chart and ended up winning won three Grammy Awards.  It has since become one of his most recognizable themes and kicked off a pleasant program of other dreamy lounge cuts and Latin-tinged numbers in it’s wake.

But, wait.

There’s more!

Mancini also includes some noirish, big band numbers, like ‘The Tiber Twist‘, and balances it all with the solidly swinging mambos ‘The Village Inn‘, ‘Something for Sellers‘ (as in Peter Sellers, the movies’ star), ‘Royal Blue’ (Sellers himself describes this song in the album’s liner notes as “the color that Royal people turn when they get cold”), and ‘It Had Better Be Tonight‘ (co-written by frequent partner Johnny Mercer and something of a minor vocal hit upon its release).

The program’s highlights, though, come from the kind of sublime (some might say cheesy) ballads he usually included on his soundtracks; the after-hours jazz tune ‘Royal Blue‘  stands out in particular, with its tasteful string arrangement and glowing trumpet solo.  This is a great title for fans of Mancini’s lounge/soundtrack material, or just for for those of you who love your cheesy 60’s lounge exotica music such as I do.

And, truth be told, despite the condition of the record sleeve this album plays great.  So regardless of what dumpster I hauled it out of, I was definitely smart to do so.  It’s probably the first time I’ve even listened to it but, DAY-UM!

This is some excellent shit.

Cheeky pink phallus-shaped jungle cats n’ all.

And funnily enough, as soon as I put it on and that infamous Duh-dah, duh-dah, duh-dah..” started up all the cats came running.  It was like they were personally being called.

Perhaps this soundtrack (the theme particularly) has somehow been embedded into each and every feline’s DNA and now serves as some sort of kitty siren song, instantly beckoning them from wherever they happen to be napping, eating, pooping, etc.

Or maybe they just like being sneaky.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

