Fartlek Run (10.27k)

FINALLY!

The Run Gods have smiled on me by clearing away all the overcast/rainy bullshit and allowing me this opportunity to get out and kick some ass with this afternoon’s lunchtime 10.27k fartlek run.

My musical motivation is the the ‘Evil Heat‘  album by Primal Scream.

0001421499

It was pretty hard to guess wha the Scream would do with a follow-up to their bombastic 2000 release, ‘XTRMNTR‘ (terrible at it was in my humble opinion).  That record broke all kinds of ground for a group that had consistently shifted with popular culture since their Madchester/acid house success of ‘Screamadelica‘.

Evil Heat‘  seems to attempt to bridge together the two worlds of their past club psychedelia and the blastings of ‘XTRMNTR‘.  In all – thank the Lord almighty! – they succeed for the most part: there’s some pounding and grinding for the club, and then some all-out cries and rockers to fill out the set.  However, at times the dance stuff hits a lull, and they don’t really take it anywhere but, hey, I’m running and not hip-hopping around like a drugged up fairy so it’s all good.

Such is the case with ‘Autobahn 66‘.  Sure, club music is at times seemingly unchanging, but Primal Scream can take it to other places (and they have in the past). The transcendental moves of ‘Vanishing Point‘ or the spiritual grooves apparent on ‘Screamadelica‘  had taken surface repetition and opened it up to new interpretation. Thankfully, Kevin Shields puts together some great guitarscapes in this album – maybe the best work he’s done post-‘Loveless‘.  It’s what saves this record, since Bobby Gillespie (as usual) tries to ruin some of these tracks with some pretty silly lyrics. The other saving grace here is a rework of Lee Hazlewood’s ‘Some Velvet Morning‘, which features model Kate Moss singing some rather appropriate lyrics (“Look at us but do not touch” repeated and repeated).

The run itself was both good and bad with, yes, just a touch of ugly thrown in for good measure.  The good came in the first 2 of the 5 x 2 minute HARD intervals.  Everything good.  Check!  But by the end of the 3rd, I was ready to pack it in.  Here comes the bad: energy levels failing.  I blame Kelly and for not having any eggs for my regular breakfast fuel.

I mean, seriously.

Who eats cold cereal for God sakes?

But somehow I sucked it up and got ‘er done despite running directly into a head wind back down Thunder Bay Rd. again.  Then, miraculously, because I didn’t feel like doing 10 x 30 second wind sprints into a blowing wind, I did three  more two minute HARD intervals instead with only a minute break in between.

And here’s where the ugly began as it sure wasn’t pretty.

Then I did one last one for good measure.

So all in all, the run got done but my over all average pace of 6:02min/km leaves much to be desired.

Uuuuuuuuuu-gly!

But at least it got me back home in time before Mother Nature is about to let loose with Round 2 of her rainy stupidness today.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

