Core

After 48 hours of restless sleep this week thanks to endless dreams of manipulating, editing and and arranging PowerPoint presentations, guess what I get to do more of today  Yup, more PowerPoints.  Oh boy!  Can’t imagine where these dreams are coming from.  My one and only break this afternoon is my lunchtime core workout (Day 83), today to the ‘Sold Out‘  album by The Kingston Trio.

s-l300

I confess that I’m not really a huge fan of this popular American folk and pop music group (largely responsible for the folk revival of the late 1950’s to late 1960’s) but my dad was a fan and, believe me, my dad didn’t like much when it came to music.  Pretty much the only things he would listen to were Nana Mouskouri and The Kingston Trio, so given my options of things to listen to in order to remember my dad, this is the least offensive.

I found it for a buck or two at some Record Fair somewhere and seeing as how I was thinking of my father this morning, I figure this would be an apt time to listen to it.

Released in 1960, this was their 3rd LP to reach #1, where it stayed for twelve weeks, and received an RIAA gold certification the same year.  The Mexican flavored ‘El Matador‘  was its lead-off single (which, honestly is pretty freakin’ cool – just sayin’…), though it just made the Top 40 and provides 65 minutes or so of prime music from the heady days of the folk revival and will be warmly appreciated by fans like my dad.

Me?

Well, let’s just say that the jury is still out on that one.

By 1959, the Trio had reached mass popularity, won a Grammy, and had even begun to record their music in stereo. While their reign as the world’s most popular folk act remained unchallenged, many within the folk community were critical of the group. Writers in magazines like  Sing Out! argued that the trio’s music had little to do with “real” folk music. Their smooth harmonies and evasion of political controversies placed them at odds with the spirit of Woody Guthrie and the aesthetic of the Anthology of American Folk Music.

Like the Weavers before them, however, their fans could have cared less. Even though an effort like Sold Out found the group basically sticking to the formula of earlier albums, their fans kept it on the Top 40 for 54 weeks.  Fan or not, one should certainly check out the bizarre ballad of Ann Bolin’s ghost, ‘With Her Head Tucked Underneath Her Arm‘.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

