Core

After that last train wreck of a listen, nothing short of a full frontal lobotomy, or at the very least a corkscrew to the inner ear, will help erase that vocoder bullshit from my brain.  I need something intelligent and awesome to redeem myself, lest I run out into the backyard, douse myself with kerosene and set myself ablaze rather than deal with the infinite shame of now owning a Robert Glasper Experiment album.

Fortunately, there’s ‘Full House‘ by Wes Montgomery to the rescue.

51wm1ksamsl-_sx466_

This is the 7th album and first live jazz album by American jazz guitarist Wes Montgomery, recorded at the Tsubo in Berkeley, California on June 25, 1962 and released later that year.  This live set is notable for teaming guitarist Montgomery and the Wynton Kelly Trio (comprised of pianist Kelly, bassist Paul Chambers, and drummer Jimmy Cobb), one of Miles Davis‘ regular ensembles, with the fiery tenor of Johnny Griffin.

This album captures that spirit with multiple styles, different takes, and the applause from the crowd.  I mean, after all, Wes Montgomery was first and foremost a live player, able to build long, sinewy solos, giving justification to the concept of “stretching out.”  And the excitement only builds when tenorist Johnny Griffin jumps in.  Fiery and articulate, Griffin was at the top of his game as his excellent solos on Montgomery’s ‘Cariba‘  and Dizzy Gillespie’s ‘Blue ‘n’ Boogie‘  testify.  Add the Miles Davis rhythm section of Jimmy Cobb on drums, Paul Chambers on bass, and the elegant Wynton Kelly on piano, and you have some truly sparkling live jazz from the classic era.

And in listening to this album over the course of Day 79 of my mat workout, I think I might actually be able to put that last 60 minutes of horribleness behind me and move on without too much street cred being irreparably damaged*.

*Of course, this won’t be 100% redeemed until that buttload of malarkey is out of the house and, preferably, sitting on the very tippy top of a raging tire fire.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

