Fartlek Run (10.36k)

I’m going to try for my second full fartlek workout of the year this afternoon (10.36k).  This is the same set of 5 x 2 minute intervals that I did last Tuesday but I’m also going to throw in the 10 x 30 sprints for good measure that I left sidelines last week for cautionary purposes.  My album du jour through the spiked heart rate is in line with yesterdays interval spin soundtrack, ‘Gish‘  by the Smashing Pumpkins.

smashingpumpkins-gish

I was introduced to the Pumpkins back in high school (1991) before anyone else (known to me at the time anyway) had so much as breathed a word about them.  In fact, I asked to borrow it from a friends collection simply because the band name fascinated me.

Arriving several months before Nirvana’s ‘Nevermind‘, the Smashing Pumpkins’ debut album, ‘Gish‘, which was also produced by Butch Vig, was the first shot of the alternative revolution that transformed the rock & roll landscape of the ’90s.

While Nirvana was a punk band, the Smashing Pumpkins and guitarist/vocalist Billy Corgan are arena rockers, co-opting their metallic riffs and epic art rock song structures with self-absorbed lyrical confessions. Though Corgan’s lyrics fall apart upon close analysis, there’s no denying his gift for arrangements. Like Brian May and Jimmy Page, he knows how to layer guitars for maximum effect, whether it’s on the pounding, sub-Sabbath rush of ‘I Am One‘  or the shimmering, psychedelic dream pop surfaces of ‘Rhinoceros‘ (which, as pretty as it is, provides absolutely zero motivation during a hard interval – just sayin’). Such musical moments like these, as well as the rushing ‘Siva‘  and the folky ‘Daydream‘ (which made for a great warm down tune) which features D’Arcy on lead vocals, demonstrate the Pumpkins’ potential that they would rise to on their follow up album ‘Siamese Dream‘  two years later.

This evening’s run went very well.  I mean, it sucked of course, but it got complete and at certain points I almost felt like I was running with purpose (for a fat guy that is) and my confidence is slowly beginning to return.

May I can do this.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

