Long Run (10.59k)

All of my tri and running peeps (wait, did I just say “peeps”?  God.  Shoot me already.) are participating at the Around the Bay 30k race today.  You know, the race that I totally blew up last year – and not in the good way (click HERE).  So while they’re off being great and doing that, I’m here at home running a mere 60 minutes (10.59k) through the back roads of Ridgeway and Crystal Beach.  It’s a tough pill to swallow but I’m accepting it as one of those “it is what it is” kind of situations.  And this morning’s soundtrack is the ‘May I Sing With Me‘  album by Yo La Tengo.

mi0000051624

Released in February of 1992 on the Alias label, this album is the first with their now-permanent bassist James McNew.  And with song titles like ‘Mushroom Cloud of Hiss‘ and ‘Five-Cornered Drone (Crispy Duck)‘, ‘May I Sing with Me‘  is classic Yo La Tengo, merging pop and noise in an awesome aural display.

Songs start with Ira Kaplan’s repetitive (and very simple) chord changes, as Georgia Hubley and (at this juncture) regular bassist James McNew add layer after layer of supportive sound. On a noisier track like the aforementioned ‘Mushroom Cloud of Hiss‘, the song explodes in paroxysms of feedback and drops the rhythmic pulse altogether, eventually returning the backbeat after a few minutes of white noise. That may not be everybody’s cup of tea, but for those who like this type of adventurousness and recklessness, it’s a lot of fun.

Like, c’mon.

As if the Gene Kelly ‘Singin’ In the Rain‘ cover didn’t give that shit away already.

The goal today was simply to a) run continuous, and b) run “within myself”.  In other words, run comfortable at the pace that feels “normal”.  Mission accomplished on both regards.  In fact, maybe the second goal went a little too well with my “normal” pace falling anywhere between 5:00min/km  and 5:25min/km…without killing myself (avg. 5:40min/km  overall).

That’s good, right?

Well, yeah, until I started dying in the last 15 minutes which ended up being not so “fleak” as it were.  Of course, I forgot to have a little munch before I headed out the door and I hadn’t eaten in over four hours by that point so, okay, lesson learned.  One of these days I’ll figure out that whole proper fueling thing.

The real learning opportunity here (besides fuel better you ass) is that it is safe to assume I can stop playing it “safe” and begin my long run weekend routine again, beginning with more progression style runs just as I was last year.   That also means that might be the last “long run” album post in a while as I will inevitably go back to predetermined playlists to help keep motivated and the pace up.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

