Core

I have a bit of an ambitious day planned out including two outdoor workouts and there’s still lots to do at work so I’m getting today’s core workout (Day 75!) accomplished early.  And, hey, since I started a Cornball theme with yesterday’s mat session, I’ll sticking with it by listening to the ‘The Stripper and Other Fun Songs for the Family‘ by David Rose.

r-1412998-1346144414-4847-jpeg

Now, let me start off by mentioning that I DO NOT condone stripping as a fun family past time.  It’s not exactly the kind of “bonding” I would ever recommend. But if you’re going to put that shit out on a record for my amusement at a price of $2.00 (thank you Orange Monkey!) then I will absolutely purchase that shit and listen to it…as I am this morning.

So, sadly, the only stripping happening today is me down to my undies to complete this workout.

And I wouldn’t recommend picturing it either.

Though it doesn’t have the sparking arpeggios that distinguished his ’50s recordings, as it turns out, this album (1962) is a swinging, pseudo-burlesque collection that showcases his flair for parody.

So who is David Rose?

Rose (June 15, 1910 – August 23, 1990) was an American songwriter, composer, arranger, pianist, and orchestra leader who wrote music for many television series, including It’s a Great Life, The Tony Martin Show, Sea Patrol, Little House on the Prairie, Highway to Heaven, Bonanza, and Highway Patrol under the pseudonym “Ray Llewellyn.”   In addition, he was musical director for The Red Skelton Show during its 21-year run on the CBS and NBC networks. He was a member of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia, the national fraternity for men in music.  Rose’s work in composing music for television programs earned him four Emmy’s.

Huh.

Didn’t see that coming.

You would definitely recognize the title track (click HERE) as well as maybe ‘Night Train‘.  There are also cheesy little versions of Ellington‘s ‘Mood Indigo‘ and Louis Armstrong‘s ‘St. James Infirmary‘.  And I’m pretty sure the last track ‘My Heart Belongs to Daddy‘ is a Bond theme, and if it’s not – it sure as shit should be.

But whoever he is and whatever this music is, it’s a pretty seriously campy (but awesome) day here on the the mat for planking (my 4th straight day of 5-minute planks I might add), squatting, push-ups and crunches.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

