Long Run (10.07k)

I missed my “long run” (yes, I still use that term loosely these days) last weekend so I’m kick-starting that part of the run program this evening by running for 60 minutes (10.07k).  Now, usually, these runs occur on Sundays but since we’re going to visit friends in Kitchener/Waterloo this weekend, the idea of running long after a long car drive home on Sunday is not appealing so I’m sucking it up and getting it done now.  Next week, I’ll return to the usual Sunday time slot.

Likewise, I have already professed once today about not being a huge admirer/appreciator of Celtic inspired “diddley-diddley” music, but that doesn’t mean that I am not festive.  I just have to be a bit more flexible and creative, which is why I’m opting to go with this ‘Saint Dominic’s Preview‘  album by Van Morrison as my ode to St. Patrick’s Day.

saint-dominics-preview

Now, don’t get  me wrong.  I am no more suggesting that this album is any more representative of traditional Gaelic or Celtic inspired music than I would than that those bell bottoms that’s Van’s wearing on the front  cover are representative of a traditional Leprechaun’s garb.

But he does happen to be Irish and that’s good enough for me.

This the 6th studio album by the Northern Irish singer-songwriter-crooner.  It was released in July of 1972 (by brith onth and year no less!) by Warner Bros. Records. At the time, Rolling Stone  declared it “the best-produced, most ambitious Van Morrison record yet released.”

While less thematically and sonically cohesive than Van Morrison’s prior albums, ‘Saint Dominic’s Preview‘  nonetheless hangs together on the strength of its songs, an intriguingly diverse collection which draws together the disparate threads of the singer’s recent work into one sterling package.

The opener, ‘Jackie Wilson Said (I’m in Heaven When You Smile)‘, is pure R&B jubilation, while the title cut, although essentially a rewrite of ‘Tupelo Honey‘, is stunning gospel-pop; both ‘Listen to the Lion‘  (one of my favorite Van Morrison songs ever) and ‘Almost Independence Day‘, meanwhile, mark a return to the epic mystical explorations of Morrison’s earlier work and offer a pair of his most primal performances while providing an opportunity for my brain to drift off a bit heading up the incline along Nigh Rd.

The run itself was, well, meh.

I’m pleased of course that my right calf/shin problems appear to be behind me, but it’s going to be a while before ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning feel anything resembling “comfortable” during these long runs.

Hopefully, the luck of the Irish will be with me in that that long distance specific  endurance will come back somewhat quickly.

Fingers crossed.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

