Core and Other Office Bullshit

THANK GOD IT’S FRIDAY!

Pay Day Friday no less!  And that means just another 4 hours of Corporate Hell nonsense, one run workout and then it’s “Hello, CRAVE LOCAL FRESH, a wobbly pop (or 2) courtesy of Brimstone Brewing and a few rounds of Exploding Kittens for Daddy-Daughter Date night at The Sanctuary!”.

Just…stay…focused….

Anyway, this lunches decompress-slash-core workout (Day 65) is set to the ‘Stars of the Apollo Theatre‘ compilation album.

r-3616090-1337508767-4784-jpeg

I have no idea where I originally found this album, but WOW! 

What a total score it was when I did.

Essentially, all you need to know is that it’s 28 vintage “jazz” and blues from a classic period of performances at the great Apollo Theatre at at 253 West 125th Street between Adam Clayton Powell Jr. Boulevard and Frederick Douglass Boulevard in the Harlem neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City.

Full stop.

Each of the artists here largely credit the Apollo for helping to launch their lucrative (and in some cases, not so lucrative) careers.  Just look at the credits on this particular album:  Duke Ellington, Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, Sarah Vaughan, Aretha Franklin, Count Basie, “Screaming” Jay Hawkins, Jimmy Johnson, Mamie Smith, Slim Gaillard, Don Redman, and that doesn’t even begin to scrape the barrel.

For example, I have no idea who Butterbeans & Suzie (who, for the record, is worth the album alone just to hear them crooning back and forth to each other about needing a “hot dog for her roll”), Hot Lips Page & His Orchestra, or Buck & Bubbles & Their Buckets are, but DAY-UM!

That’s some good shit.

This album when I found it turned me onto the music by names I’d only heard of and I think it’s the best collection of big Apollo stars that I can imagine now. And it goes WAY back to very early recordings. I’ve been playing this album over and over again for years and it never pales, never gets old, and never ceases to make me happy.

And I need that today because of what a total shit show it’s been at work this week and I need a little Jazz Boner to cheer me up as only songs like ‘Reefer Man‘, ‘Gimme a Pigfoot‘, and ‘You’re Just An Old Antidiestablishmentarian Ismist‘ can do.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

